Record Store Day Italia 2022 > Bruno Nicolai - La Dama Rossa Uccide Sette Volte (The Red Queen Kills Seven Times)

Bruno Nicolai

La Dama Rossa Uccide Sette Volte (The Red Queen Kills Seven Times)


Event: Record Store Day Italia 2022
Release Date: 4/23/2022
Format: 2 x LP
Label: Verve
Release type: RSD Exclusive Release

Interested in this release?
Try reaching out to your local store to



CAM Sugar is proud to celebrate the 50th anniversary of this masterpiece of Italian Giallo cinema, La Dama Rossa Uccide Sette Volte (The Red Queen Kills Seven Times), with a special vinyl reissue of the soundtrack by Bruno Nicolai. This 2 LP set has been fully remastered from the original tapes and enriched by two bonus tracks, one of which was previously unreleased.

The film, by Emilio P. Miraglia, blends the line of demarcation between thriller and horror by introducing supernatural themes. Two baby sisters (one of whom is interpreted by Barbara Bouchet in her adult form) are scared to death when their grandfather informs them about a curse their family has been afflicted by for centuries. Every one hundred years, the Red Queen who inhabited their castle awakens from the dead to kill seven people before finding peace again.

The cult success of the film can be attributed to its aesthetics that encapsulate the essence of Italian thrillers (a genre that peaked in 1972) with its sophisticated costumes, interiors, and ultrapop décor.

The icing on the cake is the music by Bruno Nicolai, who between 1965 and 1974 was living his best moment by working side-by-side with his friend and colleague, Ennio Morricone, for whom he conducted the orchestra on many soundtracks. This soundtrack was one of his best works, flawlessly bringing together the pop and underground music sensitivity of the 1970s with the gothic nuances of the plot – thanks to a clever use of harpsichords. The result is a pivotal score, not just because of the importance of the film itself but for the whole golden age of the soundtrack genre.

The exquisite, sweet and sensual lounge tracks are counterbalanced by tense, deranged, and suspense-filled dodecaphonic highlights. The obstinate bass lines also become the perfect soundtrack for the Red Queen’s murders and her victim’s desperate getaways.

This release is part of CAM Sugar’s PAURA series of standalone soundtracks that follow the same-titled compilation which explores rare and unreleased horror gems from the label’s archive.

2 LP set pressed on Blood Red vinyl. Gatefold Jacket. Limited Edition.

Side A:
1. La dama rossa uccide sette volte - Preludio e titoli
2. La dama rossa appare & Primo delitto
3. Veglia funebre & Macabro ricordo
4. In automobile
5. L'eredità & Agguato nel buio
6. Secondo delitto

Side B:
1. Risata malefica
2. Ufficio vuoto
3. Interrogatorio
4. In cantina
5. Servizio fotografico
6. Terzo delitto
7. Quarto delitto

Side C:
1. La dama rossa uccide sette volte
2. Segreto terribile
3. Incubo e aggressione
4. Quinto delitto
5. La dama rossa appare
6. Minaccia

Side D:
1. Scoperta & Sesto delitto
2. Inseguimento & Settimo delitto
3. Confronto finale
4. Fine di un incubo - Titoli di coda
5. La dama rossa uccide sette volte (Ripresa)