Format: CD
Rel. Date: 10/20/2023
UPC: 016728170925

Grit & Grace
Artist: Jennifer Wharton's Bonegasm
Format: CD


1. Be Normal
2. In Our Darkest Hour
3. Anita
4. Mama's Alright
5. Norhal
6. Uncertainty
7. Menina Sozinha
8. Virtual Reality
9. La Bruja
10. Coop's Condiments

More Info:

In a 2019 article, Forbes Magazine decreed that the two characteristics women need most to thrive in the business world are "grit and grace." Bass trombonist Jennifer Wharton has exemplified those qualities in the music she's made with her brass-forward band Bonegasm since it's 2019 debut. How else to explain Wharton's venture into improvising and bandleading after years in the classical world, big band sections and Broadway orchestra pits? Or her dedication to giving the oft-neglected trombone - and more to the point, her own bass trombone - it's place in the spotlight? And not least, that she's done so with a tricky balance of elegant arrangements, bold musicianship, and audacious wit?