Rufus Reid - It's The Nights I Like (With Sullivan Fortner)


Format: CD
Rel. Date: 02/02/2024
UPC: 016728173025

It's The Nights I Like (With Sullivan Fortner)
Artist: Rufus Reid
Format: CD


1. Always in the Moment
2. I Can't Explain
3. Big Foot
4. Duke Ellington's Sound of Love
5. It's the Nights I Like
6. Sophisticated Lady
7. Sweet Loraine
8. Reminiscing
9. The Meddler
10. The Peacocks
11. Come Out and Play
12. Memories of You

More Info:

The mastery of an instrument or a musical language doesn't necessarily mean that a musician must be frivolous in performance with displays of their masterful technique or engagement in superfluous overplaying. Sometimes it is the restraint that shows the maturity and taste of a performer. Rufus Reid and Sullivan Fortner are musicians who have the easy ability to astonish but show their class in their control. Of course, Reid has been admonished as one of the best bassists in jazz for decades, leaving him nothing more to prove. The heralded young pianist, Sullivan Fortner, has a maturity beyond his years and the pairing of the two allows for music making of the highest caliber. Their duo recording, It's The Nights I Like, shows just what kind of magic can made without resorting to histrionics and letting the music shine.