back to top


Format: CD
Label: DEGR
Rel. Date: 11/20/2020
UPC: 028948385348

Art of the Mandolin
Artist: Avi Avital
Format: CD


1. I. Allegro
2. II. Andante
3. III. Allegro
4. Adagio for Mandolin and Harpsichord in E Flat Major, WoO 43b (Transcr. for Mandolin and Harp)
5. I. Inside the Wave
6. II. The Death of Despair
7. III. Death Is a Friend of Ours
8. Prelude for Mandolin Solo
9. I. Allegro (Transcr. for Mandolin and Basso continuo)
10. II. Grave (Transcr. for Mandolin and Basso continuo)
11. III. Allegro (Transcr. for Mandolin and Basso continuo)
12. I. Allegro
13. II. Lentamente recitando
14. III. lo stesso movimento
15. I. Carillon
16. II. Récitatif
17. III. Masque

More Info:

Art of the Mandolin is Avi Avital’s first recording exclusively comprising pieces originally written for the mandolin. Including, Vivaldi's Concerto for Two Mandolins in G Major, Beethoven's seldom-performed Adagio in E-flat Major and contemporary pieces by composers Paul Ben-Haim, David Bruce, Giovanni Sollima, as well as a few commissioned by Avi himself. Joining Avi on this recording are the Venice Baroque Orchestra, Anneleen Lenaerts, Sean Shibe, Yizhar Karshon, and Ophira Zakai.