Johnny Lytle - New & Groovy (Uk)


Format: Vinyl
Rel. Date: 08/02/2024
UPC: 029667023511

New & Groovy (Uk)
Artist: Johnny Lytle
Format: Vinyl


1. The Snapper
2. Summertime
3. Selim
4. The Shadow of Your Smile
5. Come and Get It
6. The Pulpit
7. Too Close for Comfort
8. Chanukah
9. Screamin' Loud
10. El Marcel

More Info:

Vibes player Johnny Lytle was one of the heroes of the early acid jazz club circuit, with his cut 'Selim' being an anthem of the scene. The Ohio born player had made his name at Riverside where his 1965 album "The Village Caller" made him a star. When Riverside ceased trading, owner Orrin Keepnews collaborated with Lytle on two albums which came out on the Detroit label, Tuba. Ace reissued the first album "The Loop" last year (HIQLP 115). We are delighted to now put out the second, "New And Groovy". The line-up features Milt Harris (organ) Wynton Kelly (piano), George Duvivier (bass) "Peppy" Hinnant or Jimmy Cobb (drums) Montego Joe (congas) and Lytle on vibes. The band power through a selection of original material such as 'The Snapper', 'The Pulpit' and 'Screamin' Loud'. The album also contains Lytle's radical reworking of Miles Davis' 'Miles' which Lytle retitles 'Selim'. With poor distribution, "New And Groovy" barely made it to the shops back in 1967 and was ignored for twenty years until DJs such as Bob Jones and Gilles Peterson started playing it in the 80s making it a sought-after LP. The popularity of "New And Groovy" has remained, and this is first time it has been legally reissued on vinyl. "Snapper one up...!"