Christine Jensen - Harbour


Format: CD
Rel. Date: 06/28/2024
UPC: 068944864225

Artist: Christine Jensen
Format: CD


1. Passing Lions Gate
2. Swirlaround
3. Wink
4. Surge
5. Harbour
6. Cascadian Fragments
7. Fantasy on Blue

More Info:

Jensen writes in three dimensions, with a quiet kind of authority that makes the many elements cohere. Wayne Shorter, Maria Schneider and Kenny Wheeler come to mind." - DownBeat"Always a compelling writer, capable of strong lyricism combined with harmonic invention and plenty of narrative twists and turns, Jensen's music not only impresses on a first encounter, but reveals more with each and every listen." - All About JazzCanadian Saxophonist and composer Christine Jensen has led a distinct voice to the creative jazz scene for the last twenty-five years with her large and small ensembles. As a Downbeat Critic's Poll winner for Rising Star Big Band, Arranger, and Soprano Saxophonist, she is constantly in motion as an improviser, composer and bandleader. Her third jazz orchestra album entitled 'Harbour' follows previous releases 'Habitat' (2013) and 'Treelines' (2010). It features her Montreal-based orchestra, along with guest soloists New York based Ingrid Jensen on trumpet and electronics, Gary Versace on piano, Chet Doxas on tenor saxophone, Jon Wikan on drums and Montreal-based Steve Raegele on guitar. This album captures over a decade of her compositions and commissions, with her sister's improvisations infused throughout. "I think of this collection of songs as my commissioning series, with each piece marking time since the beginnings of life for my daughter LIV, who is now thirteen. I chose the title 'Harbour' because I think of it as a place of shelter on the water, a respite before the new migrations that await on land. This ensemble of family and friends represents that feeling to me, as we all came out of so much turbulence to land together in a room, where my music could take flight. The musicians that I had the privilege to perform and record with took all this to another level and brought their own characters in through their masterful sounds and improvisations. This time around, I can't be more thrilled with the magic that has surfaced, from the sculpting of forms to the performances that are so lovingly interpreted.