back to top


Format: CD
Label: CCPL
Rel. Date: 03/19/2021
UPC: 195269056940

Safe Distance
Artist: Janet Simpson
Format: CD


1. Nashville Girls
2. Slip
3. Reno
4. Awe and Wonder
5. I’m Wrong
6. Ain’t Nobody Lookin’
7. Safe Distance
8. Black Turns Blue
9. Double Lines
10. Silverman
11. Mountain
12. Wrecked

More Info:

Safe Distance – the new album from singer, songwriter, composer, and multi-instrumentalist, Janet Simpson, isn’t a concept record, but it does take a journey. From Nashville to Reno (well, almost), to running away from demons, retreating from your troubles, hiding in plain sight, and returning liberated – ready to skip away again while your past looks on with a dropped jaw. But nothing here rambles aimlessly: Simpson’s characters long to get free (and succeed) while navigating it all with confident purpose. They are reflective but never middling. They hurt but move to healing – or take the time to care for others. And they don’t shy away for a good time – even if they’re having too much of one.