Brainstory - Sounds Good


Format: CD
Rel. Date: 04/19/2024
UPC: 349223011227

Sounds Good
Artist: Brainstory
Format: CD


1. Nobody But You
2. Peach Optimo
3. Listen
4. Gift of Life
5. Nyny
6. I Will Be
7. Hanging on
8. Xfaded
9. Too Yung
10. Stay
11. Sweet ; Lovely
12. Rialto Winds

More Info:

Based in L.A. but hailing from the Inland Empire's own Rialto, California,two-thirds of Brainstory, Kevin and Tony Martin are brothers by blood, whileEric Hagstrom is a brother through their music and long term friendship. Sincethey started the band they have constantly faced situations that forced them torise to the occasion. They got signed to Big Crown Records, they stepped uptheir game. COVID happened, they learned to record themselves. They startedtouring a ton sharing the stage with the likes of Lady Wray and they got theirlive show super tight. All of this time spent grinding and growing has certainlypaid off. The path to take their art to the next level is clearer than ever, and onceagain, they are here for it. If there is one thing that is abundantly clear onSounds Good, it's that Brainstory has leveled up.Part of this evolution is undoubtedly attributed to having access to and workingconstantly in their own studio in Long Beach. Another major factor is that theirbrotherhood has expanded. "I've been playing music with my brother all my lifeand now with Eric for a long time," Tony tells us. "Leon, though, is like anotherbrother I've just met."Leon Michels, Big Crown's co-owner, produced this record and applied hisunmistakable golden touch in crucial ways. The other member of the extendedBrainstory brotherhood whose contributions were essential to the album, isstudio engineer legend Jens Jungkurth who controls the tones and textures ofthe music. "That's what you're hearing, our connection, the fun moments, thelittle details," Kevin describes. "This record isn't half what it is withoutthem-and it made us want to match that effort," and match that effort they did.Album opener "Nobody But You" is an uplifting, dance oor burner, that showsoff a new side of Brainstory's range. Drummer Eric Hagstrom's crushing backbeat lays the foundation for an inspirational feel good banger that manages totake the uncomfortable truth that "nobody will save you but you" and turn it intopure blissful motivation. "Peach Optimo" is a laid back half time tune that blendsthe bounce of Down South Hip-Hop with California G funk and Jazz. They onceagain show off their B said ballad talents with "Gift Of Life" but this time takingthe genre to a new place with lyrics about existentialism and a track that isdrop dead gorgeous, haunting, and profound all at once. "NyNy" is an homage toKev and Tony's recently deceased grandfather while "Too Yung" is a showstopping, deeply personal, stripped down number about being introduced toalcohol at a young age. They put another hit on the boards with "Hanging On," aLatin / Psychedelic Soul inspired banger featuring Claire Cottrill on backgroundvocals while "XFaded" addresses the all too common vicious cycle of smokingand drinking too much over a trippy shufe."It's been four years since our last full length record, and with everything that'shappened since, it's like we've been catching up to ourselves." That's one wayto describe change: catching up to oneself. Each member of Brainstory has gonethrough shifts, both personally and musically, and all of that threads throughSounds Good. It's easy to say that the music industry can be short on lasting,genuine relationships. However, for Brainstory, from day one it's been aboutstanding by each other, for each other. Their friendship started the group, and