back to top


Format: CD
Rel. Date: 07/27/2018
UPC: 4050486115060

Book Of Life
Artist: Masayoshi Fujita
Format: CD


1. Snowy Night Tale
2. Fog
3. It s Magical
4. Old Automation
5. Book Of Life
6. Harp
7. Mountain Deer
8. Sadness
9. Misty Avalanche
10. Cloud Of Light

More Info:

Following on from his acclaimed works Stories and Apologues, Berlinbased composer and vibraphonist Masayoshi Fujita will release his new album Book of Life, the final instalment in this trilogy of solo vibraphone recordings, on July 27 via Erased Tapes. Previously Masayoshi released two albums under his alias El Fog, that touched on the vibraphone but appeared mostly in a supporting role, accompanying his intricate electronic production. Much like his instrument, he has often been a collaborator as opposed to a front man his sympathetic musicianship complimenting a variety of creative outputs. Most frequently with the adventurous German producer Jan Jelinek. Their most recent offering Schaum displays a dialogue between the two that makes it hard to tell just where Fujitas vibraphone ends and Jelineks whirring loops begin. Another fruitful partnership was the experimental Needle Six piece, a BBC Radio 3 recording of an improvised session with UK electronic artist Guy Andrews for Late Junction. The mesmeric and compelling 30-minute piece was released for Record Store Day in 2016. In addition his label peer and fellow Berlin resident Nils Frahm mastered Stories, providing a fitting symmetry to its re-issue on Erased Tapes now.