Abdullah Ibrahim - 3 (Gate) (Ofgv)


Format: Vinyl
Rel. Date: 03/01/2024
UPC: 4571524500650

3 (Gate) (Ofgv)
Artist: Abdullah Ibrahim
Format: Vinyl


1. Barakat
2. Tsakwe
3. Krotoa - Crystal Clear
4. Maraba
5. Ismael
6. Mindif
7. In a Sentimental Mood
8. Giant Steps
9. Reprise 1
10. Water from An Ancient Well
11. Nisa
12. The Wedding
13. Tuang Guru
14. Reprise 2
15. Dreamtime
16. Skippy
17. Blue Bolero
18. Mindif
19. Trance-Mission

More Info:

Taken from Abdullah Ibrahim's summer 2023 sold-out headline date at London's Barbican Centre, the new album "3" follows suit and is spread across two performances - the first is recorded without an audience ahead of the concert straight to analogue on a 1" Scully tape machine, which had previously been used by Elvis at the famous Memphis-based Sun Studios. The second recording is taken from the evening's performance itself with Ibrahim performing in a unique trio which includes Cleave Guyton (flute, piccolo, saxophone) who has performed alongside the likes of Aretha Franklin, Dizzy Gillespie, and Joe Henderson, as well as lauded bassist and cellist Noah Jackson, both of which are members of Ekaya and featured on Ibrahim's top 3 Billboard Jazz album "The Balance". 3-LP, gatefold, 140g