Format: CD
Rel. Date: 08/19/2022
UPC: 5013929112995

From There / To Here: Uk/Us Recordings 1974-1982
Artist: St Bridget John
Format: CD


1. Sparrowpit
2. Song for
3. The Waterden Widow
4. I Don't Know If I Can Take It
5. Some Kind of Beautiful
6. Last Goodnight
7. Curious and Woolly
8. Want to Be with You
9. Jumblequeen
10. Sweet Painted Lady
11. Long Long Time
12. Further UK Recordings
13. 3DB Australia
14. Bumper to Bumper
15. Grow
16. Nancy Alice (Later)
17. Just Like a Woman (Battered Ornaments Version)
18. Little Song (Take 2)
19. Castaway
20. Chamille
21. Make-Me-Whole
22. Jealous Jailer
23. I Need It Sometimes
24. Best I Can
25. Maybe If I Write a Letter
26. Crazy Heart
27. Feel My Love
28. Song for John
29. You Make It All Right
30. Safe Place
31. Talk to Me
32. Manhattan Madhatters
33. One Night Wonder
34. Catch a Falling Star
35. Flying for Now
36. Moody
37. Easy Come Easy Go
38. Curious and Woolly (New York Version)
39. Castaway (New York Simpler Version)
40. What Am I Supposed to Do (New York 1976)
41. Some Kind of Beautiful (New York Rock Version)
42. I Need It Sometimes (Roxy Recorders Version)
43. Face to Face (Roxy Recorders Version)
44. Come Up and See Me Sometime
45. Keep You in Touch
46. Talk to Me (Roxy Recorders Version)
47. Crazy Heart (Unknown Version)
48. Feel My Love (Roxy Recorders Version)
49. Help Him Through It (Roxy Recorders Version)
50. Flying for Now (Unknown Version)
51. Sunnyside Up (Roxy Recorders Version)
52. Curious and Woolly (Right Track Version)

More Info:

3cd Set Charting Bridget St. John's Post-Dandelion Career, 1974-1982. Features 17 Previously Unreleased Tracks! Including Alternate Versions And Previously Unheard Compositions. Following three classic albums on John Peel's Dandelion imprint in the early 1970s, Bridget St. John found herself seeking new outlets and a new path as that label ceased operations in 1972. The album 'Jumblequeen' followed on Chrysalis, and after a number of other possible new options came and went, Bridget found herself drawn towards New York City, and in 1976 relocated there and began to move within the city's underground folk music and singer-songwriter circuit. What followed was a wealth of new material that fed her trademark sound into the melting pot of New York's musical landscape, pulling in different influences and sounds, different musicians and different approaches to songs which were explored on a number of recording sessions. The recent rediscovery of Bridget's tape archive has unearthed numerous recordings captured during that very fertile period in her career, and the artist herself has hand-picked 17 previously unheard highlights, presented here alongside her own contextual sleevenotes. Also including 'Jumblequeen' and 1995's 'Take The 5ifth' (which comprises material from that same New York era), 'From There / To Here' at last provides a definite overview of the decade that followed Bridget St. John's association with John Peel and Dandelion, and is a perfect companion to our previous box set covering those years.