Dream Academy - Religion Revolution & Railways (Box) (Uk)


Format: CD
Rel. Date: 02/23/2024
UPC: 5013929113695

Religion Revolution & Railways (Box) (Uk)
Artist: Dream Academy
Format: CD


1. Life in a Northern Town
2. The Edge of Forever
3. (Johnny) New Light
4. In Places on the Run
5. This World
6. Bound to Be
7. Moving on
8. The Love Parade
9. The Party
10. One Dream
11. Indian Summer
12. The Lesson of Love
13. Humdrum
14. Power to Believe
15. Hampstead Girl
16. Here
17. In the Hands of Love
18. Ballad in 4/4
19. Doubleminded
20. Everybody's Gotta Learn Sometime
21. In Exile (For Rodrigo Rojas)
22. Love
23. Mercy Killing
24. Lucy September
25. Gaby Says
26. Waterloo
27. Twelve-Eight Angel
28. St. Valentine's Day
29. It'll Never Happen Again
30. Forest Fire
31. Lowlands
32. Not for Second Prize
33. The Love Parade (Remix) - Us Single
34. Please Please Please Let Me Get What I Want - Single
35. Girl in a Million (For Edie Sedgwick) - B-Side
36. In Places on the Run - Edit
37. In the Heart - Japanese Single
38. The Chosen Few
39. Indian Summer - Single Version
40. Hampstead Girl - B/V Mix
41. Sunrising
42. The Demonstration - B-Side
43. The Last Day of the War (PT 1) - Unreleased
44. The Last Day of the War
45. The Day It Rained Forever - Unreleased
46. Poised on the Edge of Forever - B-Side
47. Test Tape No.3 - B-Side
48. Bound to Be - Demo
49. Things We Said Today - B-Side
50. Doubleminded - Demo - Unreleased
51. These Walls - Unreleased
52. The Party - Acoustic Version 9 Living in a War
53. Immaculate Heartache - B- Side
54. House of Heartbreak - Unreleased
55. Please Please Please Let Me Get What I Want - Instrumental
56. The Love Parade - Instrumental
57. Humdrum - Instrumental - Unreleased
58. Power to Believe - Instrumental
59. Hampstead Girl - Instrumental - Unreleased 6 Here - Instrumental -Unreleased
60. In the Hands of Love - B/V Mix - Unreleased
61. Ballad in 4/4 - Instrumental - Unreleased
62. Doubleminded - Instrumental -Unreleased
63. Everybody's Gotta Learn Sometime - Instrumental - Unreleased
64. In Exile (For Rodrigo Rojas)
65. Instrumental - Unreleased 12 the Demonstration - Instrumental - Unreleased 13 in Suspendium - B-Side
66. Life in a Northern Town - Extended
67. The Love Parade - 12 Mix
68. Indian Summer - Extended Version
69. Angel of Mercy - 12/8 Mix
70. Mordechai Vanunu - B-Side
71. Love (Is Seven) - B-Side
72. Love - Dreamstrumental
73. Love - Dream House
74. Love - Love Is 12
75. Love - Whales in Love
76. Love - Hare Krishna Mix
77. Heaven - PTS 1 /2 - Unreleased

More Info:

Seven CD box set of the complete recordings of The Dream Academy. Featuring their three official albums and including all official B-sides and remixes and unreleased tracks. The band's Nick Laird-Clowes has searched the Warner Bros archives to find rarities and unreleased tracks and has been closely involved with remastering, creating all new artwork, and choosing photographic material as well as writing comprehensive liner notes for the set. The Dream Academy were a British band featuring singer/guitarist and songwriter Nick Laird- Clowes, multi-instrumentalist Kate St. John, and keyboardist/songwriter Gilbert Gabriel. In I985 the group achieved worldwide success following the release of their first single 'Life In A Northern Town' which saw their subsequent debut album going into the American Top 20. Their atmospheric music was the result of an unusual musical line-up of oboe and cor anglais, string synthesiser and acoustic guitar, while their three albums for Warner/Reprise brought them a large and devoted following. Their close musical association with David Gilmour saw him co-producing two of their three albums. Other co-productions included both Lyndsey Buckingham and Hugh Padgham. The cinematic nature of their recordings saw the band being asked to contribute music to films by both John Hughes (Ferris Bueller's Day Off and Trains, Planes and Automobiles) and Diane Keaton (Heaven). The group disbanded in 1990 and the intervening years have seen extensive sampling and cover versions of their debut single, (most notably by Dario G's 'Sunchyme' and Sugarland And Little Big Town's reworking of 'Life In A Northern Town') resulting in further international chart success and a Grammy nomination. All three members remain active in the music business with Nick Laird-Clowes's subsequent career as a film composer, Kate St John in demand as both musical director and string arranger while Gilbert Gabriel's doctorate sees his continued involvement with both film music and multi-media exploration.