Format: CD
Rel. Date: 08/12/2022
UPC: 5013929191525

Rise & Fall: The Anthology (Uk)
Artist: Bachdenkel
Format: CD


1. Translation
2. Equals
3. An Appointment with the Master
4. The Settlement Song
5. Long Time Living
6. Strangerstill (You Leave Me)
7. Come All Ye Faceless
8. The Slightest Distance (Is a Long Time)
9. Donna
10. A Thousand Pages Before
11. Equals (Live)
12. Long Time Living (Live)
13. Happiness Is a Warm Jam
14. The Whole World (Looking Over My Shoulder)
15. After the Fall
16. Seven Times Tomorrow
17. For You to Live with Me
18. The Tournament
19. (It's Always) Easy to Be Hard
20. Xenophon
21. ??????????
22. Stalingrad
23. 7 X 2Morrow (Live)
24. Easy to Be Partial
25. Bo Bo's Party
26. Donna Jam
27. Happiness Is a Warm Gun/ Come Together
28. Bye Bye Johnny
29. The Pain of Love
30. An Apple a Day
31. Now and Again Rebecca
32. Strange People
33. Through the Eyes of a Child
34. An (Other) Appointment with the Master
35. You Lied About Your Age
36. Ring of Truth
37. Miracle
38. Sirocco (In Like Flynn)
39. Ballerine
40. The 1st Person
41. 4 U 2 Live with Me
42. 7 X 2Morrow
43. It's Over
44. The Miraculous Escape
45. Sitting Pretty
46. Fast Food
47. Has to Be
48. Day By Day
49. Twilight Zone
50. Emergency Exit

More Info:

First-ever complete anthology of melodic UK progressive rock band Bachdenkel who issued two superb albums in the 70s. Includes numerous previously-unreleased studio out-takes and live cuts plus late 60s psych-pop demos under previous name U-No-Who. Dubbed "Britain's greatest unknown group" in late 1970 by the former editor of the International Times' music section, Bachdenkel would remain a cult act, their brace of albums belatedly attracting the attention of collectors and the admiration of fellow musicians like the band Mercury Rev. Having come together in Birmingham in 1968, Bachdenkel were initially part of the burgeoning local underground scene, but would spend most of their career in France. In June 1970 they booked time at a studio in Paris to record debut album 'Lemmings'. Sessions took on prodigious proportions, but with an acceptable UK/US major label deal failing to materialise, the record was only issued in France some three years later. The late 1975 recording of second album 'Stalingrad' was a less complicated experience, but it again proved difficult to place. Eventually the set was self-issued in 1977, when it's appearance unfortunately coincided with the punk explosion. A three-CD set, 'Rise And Fall' is the first complete anthology of this ill-fated but hugely talented band. It features both of their albums and adds contemporaneous out-takes, alternative versions, demos and live cuts as well as some 1967-68 demo recordings by pre-Bachdenkel outfit U- No-Who, who briefly attracted the interest of the newly-formed Apple organisation.