Format: CD
Rel. Date: 10/28/2022
UPC: 5013929481893

Turn It Up Loud: The Recordings 1981-1985 (Exp)
Artist: Roger Chapman
Format: CD


1. Prisoner
2. Hyenas Only Laugh for Fun
3. Killing Time
4. Wants Nothing Chained
5. The Long Goodbye
6. Blood and Sand
7. Common Touch
8. Goodbye Reprise
9. Hearts on the Floor
10. Step Up - Take a Bow
11. Jukebox Mama
12. Higher Ground
13. Ducking Down
14. Making the Same Mistake
15. Blood and Sand
16. King Bee
17. That Same Thing
18. Face of Stone
19. Hyenas Only Laugh for Fun
20. Night Down No. 2 (A la Z. Z.)
21. Prisoner
22. Slow Down
23. Common Touch
24. Juke Box Mama No. 3
25. He Was, She Was
26. Stone Free / Bitches Brew
27. Unknown Soldier (Reprise)
28. I Just Wanna Make Love to You
29. Mango Crazy
30. Toys: Do You?
31. I Read Your File
32. Los Dos Bailadores
33. Bluesbreaker
34. Turn It Up Loud
35. Let Me Down
36. Hunt the Man
37. Rivers Run Dry
38. I Really Can't Go Straight
39. Room Service
40. Shot in the Dark
41. Busted Loose
42. Leader of Men
43. Ready to Roll
44. I Think of You Now
45. Sitting Up Pretty
46. How How How
47. Only Love Is in the Red
48. Sweet Vanilla
49. I'm a Good Boy Now
50. Hold That Tide Back
51. Shadow on the Wall (Live in Berlin)
52. Let Me Down (Live in Berlin)
53. How How How (Live in Berlin)
54. Mango Crazy (Live in Berlin)
55. I Hang on to My Vertigo
56. Misplaced Love
57. Samsara
58. Surface Tension
59. I Think a Man Will Hang Soon
60. Immunity
61. Another Stranger
62. Psycho Surrender
63. Make a Wish
64. Scratching at Success
65. Introduction to the Menace
66. Eleven Faces
67. The Curious Kind
68. The Set Up
69. Dark Windows
70. The Sniper
71. Innocents in Paradise
72. House Arrest
73. The Outsider
74. One Man's Poison
75. Kwok's Quease
76. Living in Sin
77. No Yellow Heart
78. The Saturation of the Video Rat
79. Firefly in the Night
80. A Golden Age
81. Picture Phone
82. Victim of Wanderlust
83. The Most Dangerous of Men
84. The Wildest Wish to Fly
85. Blue Flame (Melt the Ice)
86. No Yellow Heart (Later Version)

More Info:

A 5cd Clamshell Boxed Set Featuring The Classic Roger Chapman Albums 'Hyenas Only Laugh For Fun', 'He Was... She Was... You Was... We Was', 'Mango Crazy' And 'The Shadow Knows'. With An Additional Eight Bonus Tracks Drawn From Live Recordings And Singles. All Newly Remastered From The Original Master Tapes. Including An Illustrated Booklet With New Essay. Roger Chapman first came to public attention as the vocalist with the legendary British band Family who recorded a series of acclaimed albums between 1968 and 1973. With Family, Chapman gained a reputation as a fine and unique vocalist. This reputation was enhanced further through a series of albums and live performances with the band Streetwalkers which Chapman formed with ex-Family guitarist John "Charlie" Whitney in 1974. Upon the demise of Streetwalkers, Roger embarked on a solo career which continues to this day. His first solo album, 'Chappo', was released in 1979 and gained critical acclaim in the UK and brought Roger considerable commercial success in Germany, where he would continue to enjoy popularity over the ensuing decades. By 1981 he had become a major artist in his own right, thanks to his energetic albums and live performances with his band The Shortlist. Between 1981 and 1985 he released the live double album 'He Was... She Was... You Was... We Was' (1982) and three excellent studio works, 'Hyenas Only Laugh For Fun' (1981), 'Mango Crazy' (1983) and 'The Shadow Knows' (1984). He had also gained attention thanks to his collaboration with Mike Oldfield on the track "Shadow On The Wall' which was a worldwide hit single. This 5CD clamshell boxed set has been newly remastered from the master tapes and gathers these albums along with a further eight bonus tracks drawn from the EP 'Live In Berlin' (1985) and singles. The set also includes an illustrated booklet with new essay and exclusive interview.