Ancient Grease - Women & Children First (Exp) [Remastered] (Uk)


Format: CD
Rel. Date: 11/24/2023
UPC: 5013929485198

Women & Children First (Exp) [Remastered] (Uk)
Artist: Ancient Grease
Format: CD


1. Freedom Train
2. Don't Want
3. Odd Song
4. Eagle Song
5. Where the Snow Lies Forever
6. Mother Grease the Cat
7. Time to Die
8. Prelude to a Blind Man
9. Mystic Mountain
10. Women and Children First
11. Freedom Train (Alternate Version)

More Info:

New Remastered And Expanded Release Of The 1971 Album By Ancient Grease. Featuring John Weather (Eyes Of Blue, Man, Gentle Giant) And Phil Ryan (Eyes Of Blue, Man). Remastered From The Original Master Tapes And Fully Restored Artwork With A New Essay. Ancient Grease were originally known as Strawberry Dust featuring Gareth "Morty" Mortimer (vocals), Graham Hedley-Williams (guitars), Jack Bass (bass) and Dick Owen (drums), they were spotted by Eyes of Blue drummer John Weathers brought them to the attention of Mercury Records head Lou Reizner who changed the name of the band while Weathers assumed the role of producer for the band's sole album. The sessions also featured keyboard player Phil Ryan. Featuring a wonderful blend of powerful psychedelic and progressive rock, the album was issued on Mercury in July 1970. Although it failed to make a commercial impression upon it's release, the album is now highly sought after by collectors and fans of the Welsh rock scene and Man aficionados. This Esoteric Recordings edition has been remastered from the recently located original master tapes for the very first time, (previous releases having been taken from vinyl), and presents this legendary album in the best ever sound quality.