Format: Vinyl
Label: SFE
Rel. Date: 10/13/2023
UPC: 5013929851818

Tenement Symphony (Blue) [Clear Vinyl] (Uk)
Artist: Marc Almond
Format: Vinyl


1. (i) Prelude
2. (ii) Jacky
3. (iii) What Is Love?
4. (iv) Trois Chansons De Bilitis - Extract
5. (v) The Days Of Pearly Spencer
6. (vi) My Hand Over My Heart
7. Meet Me In My Dream
8. Beautiful Brutal Thing
9. I've Never Seen Your Face
10. Vaudeville ; Burlesque
11. Champagne
12. Bruises
13. Deadly Serenade
14. Night And No Morning
15. A Love Outgrown
16. Deep Night (12" Version)
17. Money For Love (Ennio Mix)
18. Dancing In A Golden Cage
19. Dancing In A Golden Cage (Reflection In A Golden Eye)

More Info:

Remastered, double-vinyl, expanded version of Marc Almond's 1991 album 'Tenement Symphony'. Featuring the actual Trevor Horn produced 'Tenement Symphony' sequence restored as was his original intention with the dramatic statement of the orchestral 'Prelude' as a precursor to the intoxicating energy of lead hit single, 'Jacky', as written by Jacques Brel.'Tenement Symphony' was an attempt, at the time, to make the definitive Marc Almond album as masterminded by Warner Music UK's then chairman Rob Dickins. The effect of the album was meant to be like looking through the windows of different rooms in a tenement building and hearing a bouquet of narrative songs about disparate characters residing therein. It saw the first post-breakup rekindling of the songwriting partnership with Soft Cell's Dave Ball (with The Grid's Richard Norris) on the three techno-torch tracks 'Meet Me In My Dream', 'I've Never Seen Your Face' and UK hit 'My Hand Over My Heart'. It was an album that also featured three co- writes with Marc's long-standing collaborator and arranger Billy McGee (Marc & The Mambas, The Willing Sinners) on the emotionally charged tracks 'Vaudeville & Burlesque', 'Beautiful Brutal Thing' and 'Champagne'.In this re-sequencing of the album, to enable optimal mastering, 'Champagne' now opens the predominantly 'bonus tracks' second disc, the other songs were B-sides to the album's three hit singles, 'Jacky' (UK#17), My Hand Over My Heart' (UK#33) and 'The Days Of Pearly Spencer' (UK#4).Many of these B-sides feature such stellar songwriting that they could have easily created a double album back in the day to showcase all the contemporaneous involved talents of Trevor Horn, The Grid, John Coxon and Billy McGee. This special double, coloured vinyl edition for fans provides a glimpse into how such a release might actually have panned out.