back to top


Format: CD
Label: IMT
Rel. Date: 11/27/2020
UPC: 5013929923928

Enigma Years 1987-1990
Artist: Death Angel
Format: CD


1. Thrashers
2. Evil Priest
3. Voracious Souls
4. Kill As One
5. The Ultra-Violence
6. Mistress of Pain
7. Final Death
8. I.P.F.S
9. Thrashers 1
10. Kill As One 1
11. The Ultra-Violence 1
12. 3rd Floor 1
13. Road Mutants 1
14. Why You Do This 1
15. Bored 1
16. Devil's Metal 1
17. Confused 1
18. Guilty of Innocence 1
19. Open Up 2
20. Shores of Sin 2
21. Cold Gin 2
22. Mind Rape 2
23. Dehumanization 2
24. Silent Killer 2
25. Witches of Knave 2
26. Evil Priest 2
27. Why You Do This 2
28. Mistress of Pain 2
29. Road Mutants 3
30. Voracious Souls 3
31. Confused 3
32. Bored 3
33. Kill As One 3
34. Guilty of Innocence 3
35. Shores of Sin 3
36. Final Death 3
37. 3rd Floor 3
38. Vulture's Nest 3
39. The Hurt 4
40. Conflict of Interest 4
41. A Passing Thought 4
42. Elergy 4
43. Aspirations 4
44. Dismal 4
45. The Morrows Memoirs 4
46. Samson 4
47. Frolic Through the Park 4
48. Betrayed

More Info:

Four CD set. Hailing from the same Bay Area thrash metal scene that gave us Metallica, Exodus and Testament, San Francisco's Death Angel was originally formed in 1982. Their self-explanatory 1983 tape, Heavy Metal Insanity demonstrated the influence of the NWOBHM movement in the UK, such as Iron Maiden and Tygers Of Pan Tang, common with many of their American thrash metal peers. Building up a loyal cult following, their Kill As One demo was produced by Metallica's Kirk Hammett, and is included here as a bonus on CD One. Kill As One led to a record deal with Enigma Records, who released their debut album, The Ultra-Violence, in 1987. Their second Enigma album, 1988's Frolic Through The Park is on Disc Two. Bonus tracks are 'Dehumanization', 'Silent Killer' and 'Witches Of Knave'. Jumping ship to Geffen in 1990, Enigma released the unsanctioned live show Fall From Grace in 1990, recorded on stage at the famed Paradiso venue in Amsterdam in 1988, featured on Disc Three. With a set based around their first two albums, including 'Evil Priest', 'Mistress Of Pain' and 'Final Death', '3rd Floor' - previously only available as a rare, Japan only bonus track - has been included here. In 2005, Death Angel allowed their personal archive of master tapes, and even cassettes to be raided for a collection of unreleased demos and rehearsals that go right back to their earliest recordings; collected here on Disc Four as Rarities. The success of Frolic Through The Park led to a more lucrative offer from Geffen, then enjoying huge commercial success with Whitesnake and Guns N' Roses, soon to be followed by Nirvana. But a near fatal crash whilst on tour leaving drummer Andy Galeon seriously injured, directly led to the band's split in 1991. They reformed ten years later in 2001, touring and recording new albums from thereon to the present day.