Format: CD
Label: HNE
Rel. Date: 03/11/2022
UPC: 5013929925922

Babylon: The Elektra Years 1987-1992 [Import 4CD]
Artist: Faster Pussycat
Format: CD


1. Don't Change That Song
2. Bathroom Wall
3. No Room for Emotion
4. Cathouse
5. Babylon
6. Smash Alley
7. Shooting You Down
8. City Has No Heart
9. Ship Rolls in
10. Bottle in Front of Me
11. Bathroom Wall (Remix with Pussycat Intro)
12. Bathroom Wall (Remix)
13. Where There's a Whip, There's a Way
14. Little Dove
15. Poison Ivy
16. House of Pain
17. Gonna Walk
18. Pulling Weeds
19. Slip of the Tongue
20. Cryin' Shame
21. Tattoo
22. Ain't No Way Around It
23. Arizona Indian Doll
24. Please Dear
25. Babylon (Live)
26. Slip of the Tongue (Live)
27. Little Dove (Live)
28. Smash Alley (Live)
29. Pulling Weeds (Live)
30. Poison Ivy (Edit)
31. House of Pain (Edit)
32. Bathroom Wall
33. Poison Ivy
34. Pulling Weeds
35. Slip of the Tongue
36. Babylon
37. House of Pain
38. Nonstop to Nowhere
39. The Body Thief
40. Jack the Bastard
41. Big Dictionary
42. Madam Ruby's Love Boutique
43. Only Way Out
44. Maid in Wonderland
45. Friends
46. Cat Bash
47. Loose Booty
48. Mr Lovedog
49. Out with a Bang
50. Nonstop to Nowhere (CHR Version)
51. Too Tight
52. Charge Me Up
53. You're So Vain
54. The Body Thief (Edit)

More Info:

Four CD set. Forming in Hollywood, California in 1985, and taking their name from Russ Meyer's 1965 exploitation trash classic, Faster! Pussycat! Kill! Kill!, Taime Downe (lead vocals), Greg Steele (guitar), Brent Muscat (guitar), Eric Stacy (bass) and Mark Michals (drums) were in the right place at the right time with their brand of sleaze rock and glam metal. Signing to legendary record label Elektra, they released their self-titled debut on 7th July 1987 (two weeks ahead of Guns N' Roses' debut, Appetite For Destruction). Becoming MTV favourites with videos for the songs 'Bathroom Wall' and 'Don't Change That Song', their fame and infamy was further propelled by appearing in the Penelope Spheeris film The Decline of Western Civilization part 2 - The Metal Years, with the band interviewed as well as performing 'Cathouse' and 'Bathroom Wall' on stage. In America the band toured with Alice Cooper, David Lee Roth and Motörhead to promote the album. They reached a commercial peak in 1989 with second album, 'Wake Me When It's Over', which was swiftly awarded gold sales status. Featuring the singles 'House Of Pain' and 'Poison Ivy', 'Wake Me When It's Over' was marked by a heavier, less glam rock approach. They also recorded a cover of Carly Simon's 'You're So Vain' for the compilation album 'Rubáiyát', an album celebrating Elektra Records's 40th Anniversary. Led by the single 'Nonstop to Nowhere', 1992's self-explanatory 'Whipped!' fared well, but despite sold out tours, the rise of grunge was making many of Faster Pussycat's glam rock contemporaries look a little obsolete. The band called it a day in 1993. The band reformed in 2001, adopting a more industrial sound, favoured by singer Taime Downe, and continue to tour and record with various line-ups to the present.