Format: Vinyl
Label: Soul Jazz
Rel. Date: 11/19/2021
UPC: 5026328004860

Jackie Mittoo - The Keyboard King At Studio One
Artist: Soul Jazz Records Presents
Format: Vinyl


1. Get Up And Get It
2. Black Organ
3. Stereo Freeze
4. Totally Together
5. Hot Tamale
6. Reggae Rock
7. Oboe
8. Juice Box
9. Summer Breeze
10. P. Cafe
11. Henry The Great
12. Killer Diller
13. Wall Street
14. Darker Shade Of Black

More Info:

SUPER NEW 20th anniversary special one-off pressing BLUE coloured vinyl gatefold sleeve edition of Soul Jazz Records' seminal Jackie Mittoo - The Keyboard King at Studio One.

Jackie Mittoo is one of the defining figureheads of reggae music !

From forming The Skatalites, at age 15, alongside Don Drummond, Roland Alphonso, Tommy McCook and others, to his work as writer, arranger, producer at Studio One records during the sixties, writing and playing for artists such as Alton Ellis, Ken Boothe, Marcia Griffiths and The Heptones (to name a few), to his career as a solo artist as well as leader of bands such as The Soul Brothers, Soul Vendors and The Sound Dimension, Jackie Mittoo is at the heart of reggae music. He was one of the instigators of Ska, Rocksteady and Reggae. In the seventies, DJ music and Dancehall were based upon classic rhythms of the sixties, many using the instrumental tracks that Jackie Mittoo created at Studio One at this time.

This compilation features the work of Jackie Mittoo at Studio One. It features music recorded as a solo artist (as opposed to the numerous singers that he accompanied). Most of these are taken from his recordings in the mid-sixties where he was recording on an almost daily basis at Studio One's Brentford Road studios developing the funky reggae sound that was his trademark.

Jackie Mittoo is as much an icon of Reggae as he is to fans of Funk music. He is without doubt the funkiest keyboard player ever to come out of Jamaica!