Format: CD
Rel. Date: 03/11/2022
UPC: 5051083168762

On The Grove
Artist: Soul Revivers
Format: CD


1. No More Drama featuring Ernest Raglan
2. Tell Me Why featuring Ken Boothe
3. Got To Live featuring Earl 16
4. Look No Further featuring Ms. Maurice
5. Gone Are The Days featuring Alexia Coley
6. Meanwhile Shuffle featuring Matic Horns
7. Cee Rocka featuring Dougal and Ciyo
8. The Underground featuring Devon Russell
9. Where The River featuring Earl 16
10. Harder featuring Ernest Raglin
11. Futile Cause featuring Alexia Coley
12. Down River featuring Ms. Maurice

More Info:

Soul Revivers's On The Grove is an ambitious and passionate collaboration project from Nick Manasseh and David Hill. It features musicians spanning seven decades, including Jamaican legends Ernest Raglin, Ken Boothe, Earl 16 and Devon Russell alongside contemporary artists including jazz trumpeter Ms. Maurice and vocalist Alexia Coley. The roots of Soul Revivers lie in film. In late 2017, David Hill was asked to act as music and creative consultant for Idris Elba's Yardie. David and Nick's subsequent productions for the film provided the spark for what would become the album. On The Grove was produced at Yard Studios, under the Westway, below the charred hulk of Grenfell. It is a journey through the moodier side of reggae, and a progression in the ever evolving, yet timeless nature of the music. It is also a tribute to it's long connection to West London, and in particular, Ladbroke Grove and Notting Hill. The album sleeve features Charlie Phillips's photograph of Lepke (founder of Dread Broadcasting Platform) setting up for the Notting Hill Carnival in the late '70s. Alongside the featured artists, there are stellar performances throughout, from an extraordinary range of London's most talented musicians, completing the next chapter in the musical mythology of West London reggae.