Format: CD
Rel. Date: 03/11/2022
UPC: 5051083175531

Bach Berg Schoenberg Webern
Artist: Cartier-Hortense Bresson
Format: CD


1. Bach: Toccata in E minor BWV 914
2. Schoenberg: Drei Klavierstücke Op.11 I. Mäßige
3. Schoenberg: Drei Klavierstücke Op.11 II. Mäßige
4. Schoenberg: Drei Klavierstücke Op.11 III. Bewegte
5. Bach: Toccata in F-Sharp minor BWV 910
6. Berg: Piano Sonata Op.1
7. Bach: Toccata in D minor, BWV 913
8. Webern: Variations for Piano Op.27 I. Sehr Mäßig
9. Webern: Variations for Piano Op.27 II. Sehr Schnell
10. Webern: Variations for Piano Op.27 III. Ruhig, Fließend

More Info:

"There is a link between the style of the early masters and that of the innovators", asserted Schönberg. The program of this recording seeks to prove this saying of the master of the Second Viennese School. Hortense Cartier-Bresson sets up a dialogue between the fathers of serial music and Bach. Interweaving the Toccatas BWV 910-913-914 with the first Sonata of Berg, the Three Pieces of Schönberg and the Variations of Webern, this recording explores the great Austro-Germanic tradition and it's inheritance.