Format: CD
Rel. Date: 07/23/2021
UPC: 5055122190851

Sweet Charity: 1967 London Studio Cast / O.C.R.
Artist: Sweet Charity: 1967 London Studio Cast / O.C.R.
Format: CD


1. Charity's Theme - Westminster Sinfonia Directed By Frank Raymond
2. You Should See Yourself - Mary Preston
3. Big Spender - Canna Kendall, June Hunt
4. Rich Man's Frug - Westminster Sinfonia and Theatre Chorus Directed By Frank Raymond
5. If My Friend's Could See Me Now - Mary Preston
6. Too Many Tomorrows - John Parker
7. There's Gotta Be Something Better Than This - Mary Preston, Canna Kendall, June Hunt
8. Rhythm of Life - Craig Hunter
9. Baby Dream Your Dream - Canna Kendall, June Hunt
10. Sweet Charity - Valentine Palmer
11. Where Am I Going? - Mary Preston
12. I'm a Brass Band - Mary Preston
13. I Love to Cry at Weddings - David Weldon Williams, Canna Kendall, June Hunt

More Info:

Continuing Stage Door's London Studio Cast Album reissues from the SAGA Records back catalogue is the 'Sweet Charity' 1967 London Studio Cast Recording. Released in December 1967 to coincide with the recently opened West End production, the SAGA Records 'Sweet Charity' cast recording starred popular West End actress Mary Preston as Charity. Preston's many West End credits include taking over the role of Anita from Chita Rivera in the original London production of 'West Side Story' plus leading roles in 'Irma La Douce', 'Oh! What a Lovely War' and 'Irene'. In September 1968, Mary Preston took over the role of Helene from Paula Kelly in the 'Sweet Charity' West End production. The SAGA studio cast is rounded out by seasoned performers June Hunt, Canna Kendall, Valentine Palmer, Craig Hunter, John Parker and David Weldon Williams with the Westminster Sinfonia and Theatre Chorus directed by Frank Raymond. The SAGA Records 'Sweet Charity' has the distinction of being the only recorded version to feature an additional cut verse in Charity's song 'You Should See Yourself'. Also included on the CD release is an extended version of the 'Rich Man's Frug' which was recorded during the SAGA album sessions but went unreleased. Digitally remastered from the original studio master tapes, the 'Sweet Charity' London Studio Cast Recording now makes it's debut on CD and is licensed from the SAGA tape collection at the British Library. The release is a limited edition of 500 units only.