Jack Brymer - Classics For Clarinet


Format: CD
Label: ALTO
Rel. Date: 07/26/2024
UPC: 5055354414831

Classics For Clarinet
Artist: Jack Brymer
Format: CD


1. Mozart: Clarinet Concerto in a, K 622 I Allegro
2. II Adagio
3. Rondo-Allegro
4. Krommer: Clarinet Concerto in DB Op. 36 I Allegro
5. II Adagio
6. III Rondo: Allegro Moderato
7. Weber: Clarinet Concertino in C minor/Eb Major
8. Baermann: Adagio for Clarinet ; Strings
9. Debussy: Premiere Rhapsodie

More Info:

"His command is absolute, the mood calmingly resigned... The underlying melancholy (missed here by many) is fully brought out... [others] Weber's concertino, excellently exploits the clarinet's qualities... Baermann's Adagio has a certain melodic grace of an operatic kind ; and Debussy's Rhapsodie (competition work) has a lot of characteristic things, and never suggests that it was a piece he really had to write... Brymer's playing will be familiar from many recordings: He has a smooth technique, a lovely liquid tone - rich and warm in the clarion register, oily and vibrant in the chalumeau... He phrases Kramár with grace in the outer movements and expression in the Adagio; a skilful, thoroughly musical performance". (Gramophone)