Format: CD
Label: ALTO
Rel. Date: 01/12/2024
UPC: 5055354414930

Saxophone Concertos & Quartets Glazunov
Artist: Detlef Bensmnn / Berlin Saxophone Quartet
Format: CD


1. Glazunov: Concerto in Eb for Alto Saxophone ; Strings Op. 109
2. Villa-Lobos: Fantasia for Soprano Saxophone, 3 Horns ; Strings
3. Frank Martin: Ballade for Tenor Saxophone ; Orchestra
4. Jean Rivier: Concerto for Alto Saxophone, Trumpet ; Strings I Allegro Burlesco
5. Adagio
6. Vivcissimo
7. Glazunov: Canzona Variée Quartet in BB Op. 109
8. Jean Françaix: Petit Quatuor
9. Nikolaus Schäuble: 'Duke Ellington Medley'

More Info:

[Villa Lobos] 'incorporates nationalistic musical elements of Brazil along with melodic, lullaby-like themes, to make a truly contrasting and interesting three-movement work.' (Classic FM) 'Brazilian sonorities and rhythms are a perfect match for the saxophone' (WFMT) [Glazunov] 'persistence paid off for Raschèr, who badgered Glazunov to write him a concerto. The Russian relented and the result - three short, pleasingly lyrical movements - was premiered by Raschèr' (BBC Music Magazine) 'Glaznov's Quartet is a foundational piece for the instrument' (WFMT)