back to top


Format: CD
Label: IMT
Rel. Date: 12/04/2020
UPC: 5060263500568

Alpha & Omega: Gustav Holst Christmas Music
Artist: Godwine Choir / Wetton / Hughes / Wright
Format: CD


1. Holst: Christmas Day (1910)
2. Holst: In the Bleak Midwinter (1904)
3. Holst: Four Old English Carols (1907): A Babe Is Born
4. Holst: Four Old English Carols (1907): Now Let Us Sing
5. Holst: Four Old English Carols (1907): Jesu, Thou the Virgin-Born
6. Holst: Four Old English Carols (1907): The Saviour of the World Is Born
7. Holst: March in C Major for Organ (1890-1891)
8. Holst: Two Carols (1907-1916): A Welcome Song
9. Holst: Two Carols (1907-1916): Terly Terlow
10. Holst: Allegretto Pastorale for Organ (1890-1891)
11. Holst: Lullay My Liking (1916)
12. Holst: Three Carols (1916-1917): I Saw Three Ships
13. Holst: Three Carols (1916-1917): Personent Hodie
14. Holst: Three Carols (1916-1917): Masters in This Hall
15. Holst: Postlude in C for Organ (1890-1891)
16. Holst: Of One That Is So Fair and Bright (1916)
17. Holst: This Have I Done for My True Love (1916)
18. Holst: Bring Us in Good Ale (1916)
19. Holst: Funeral March in G Minor (Organ) (1890-1891)
20. Holst: A Dream of Christmas (1917)
21. Holst: Wassail Song (Pub. 1931)
22. Holst: Scherzo (1933) for Organ (Arr. Richard Brasier)

More Info:

This delightful and joyful disc presents all of Gustav Holst's Christmas music on a single disc for the first time, including the world première recordings of a couple of carols. The Christmas music ranges from much-loved examples such as 'In the Bleak Midwinter' and 'Personent Hodie' through to the substantial 'Christmas Day'. The carols are complemented by organ music by Holst - the Four Voluntaries, as well as an arrangement for organ of the 'Scherzo', written as part of the composer's unfinished second Symphony.