Mike Lindsay - supershapes volume 1 [Cucumber Green LP]


Format: Vinyl
Label: Moshi Moshi Records
Rel. Date: 06/14/2024
UPC: 5060918153859

supershapes volume 1 [Cucumber Green LP]
Artist: Mike Lindsay
Format: Vinyl


1. lie down
2. ruins in reverse
3. table
4. pretender to surrender
5. kachumber
6. two blues
7. it’s all for you
8. do what
9. content
10. i was the thief

More Info:

On the top floor of RG Scotts in Margate you’ll find an assortment of tables — tables that became field recordings, then programmed scatter rhythms, and eventually the foundations
of the new solo album from Mike Lindsay: supershapes (volume 1). It’s the first instalment in a series of records from the Mercury Prize-winning producer and mixing engineer (who’s also the co-founder of UK acid folktronica band Tunng, and one half of electronic alt-psych duo LUMP, with Laura Marling), a series that explores “the miraculous in the mundane”. Volume 1 looks widely at “everyday domestic objects, especially tables, coffee table books, and the daily rituals that shape us, heavily focusing on the majestic in the domestic”. The album is a kind of table in its own right: those who sit round it include Anna B Savage and many other musicians and artists — a sense of collaboration that has run through all of Lindsay’s work.