Format: CD
Rel. Date: 12/02/2022
UPC: 5065002228345

Artist: Dubok Amsterdam
Format: CD


1. * Shostakovich String Quartet No. 5 in B-Flat, Op. 92
2. I. Allegro Non Troppo
3. II. Andante - Andantino
4. III. Moderato - Allegretto - Andante
5. * Excerpt,? Shostakovich Preludes for Piano (24), Op. 34
6. No. 10 in C-Sharp minor
7. No. 15 in D-Flat Major
8. No. 14 in F-Sharp minor
9. * Bacewicz Grayna String Quartet No. 4
10. I. Andante - Allegro Moderato - Allegro Energico
11. II. Andante

More Info:

In a challenging and thought provoking new album, the Dudok Quartet Ameterdam couple two composers who famously masked their true feelings in their music. Shostakovich's famous ambiguities are present in his 5th quartet of 1951, composed at the same time as the 1st violin concerto and the 10th symphony. Bacewicz's 4th quartet written shortly after the oppression of the Poles in the late 1940s by the Soviet regime, is full of folk music influences, and was therefore 'acceptable' to the authorities. But she also erects a hall of mirrors around the work to mask her true emotions. Is this happy music? Is it masking something darker? "As a string quartet of the 21st century, we are searching for the meaning of the music we perform. Our goal is to convey the image which emanates from the music in the most authentic way. As a kind of time-transcending minstrel, we are continuously searching for the best ways to reflect the music from the past, with a new meaning and for a contemporary audience."