Jacob Anderskov - I Sang


Format: CD
Rel. Date: 05/03/2024
UPC: 5709498112329

I Sang
Artist: Jacob Anderskov
Format: CD


1. Jeg Ved en Lærkerede
2. Du Danske Sommer, Jeg Elsker Dig
3. Danmark, Nu Blunder Den Lyse Nat
4. Se, Det Summer Af Sol Over Engen
5. Se Nu Stiger Solen
6. Sommersolhvervssang
7. Du Danske Sommer Jeg Elsker Dig II
8. I Sne STÅR Urt Og Busk I Skjul
9. Underlige Aftenlufte
10. Jeg Ved en Lærkerede II

More Info:

Jacob Anderskov - I Sang - With over 25 albums to his name and numerous awards and accolades from international press, Danish pianist/composer Jacob Anderskov is recognized as a transformative force in contemporary music. His upcoming record ventures into engaging in dialogue with Denmark's quintessential "Hojskolesangbogen" - a beloved late 19th-century collection of singalongs, folk songs, and hymns which remains tightly woven into the fabric of Danish cultural identity. - The record sees ten pieces of music broken apart and reconstructed, a process through which their forms are stretched, their contexts re-imagined and all expectations shattered. Balancing on the precipice of avant-garde music and familiar tradition, "I Sang" defies convention while keeping it's heart firmly anchored in the beloved music of yesteryear. - Anderskov's delicate, subtle and textural piano playing serves as the foundation over which compositional and improvisational exploration takes place. Effortlessly drifting between familiar functional folk accompaniment and dense, complex harmony, the line between the familiar and the challenging is what propels the ensemble forward. The imaginative drumming of Jakob Hoyer, the masterful melodies woven by Kasper Tranberg on trumpet and the gentle addition of delays, reverbs and effects by Soffie Viemose help create the ethereal world the record inhabits. - Emphasizing the duality at the music's core, the record features two contrasting vocalists that bridge the gap between the two worlds Anderskov's writing sought to explore. Viemose's vocals evoke the ethereal "idea" of the songs while Munck's voice channels the hearty and familiar tone of communal singalongs prevalent in everyday Danish life.