Stan Getz  / Gilberto,Joao - Getz / Gilberto 2 (Gate) (Spa)


Format: Vinyl
Rel. Date: 12/08/2023
UPC: 600753975497

Getz / Gilberto 2 (Gate) (Spa)
Artist: Stan Getz / Gilberto,Joao
Format: Vinyl


1. Grandfather's Waltz
2. Stan's Blues
3. Tonight I Shall Sleep with a Smile on My Face
4. Here's That Rainy Day
5. Samba Da Minha Terra
6. Rosa Moreno
7. Bim Bom
8. Um Abra├žo No Bonfa
9. Meditation
10. O Pato

More Info:

GATEFOLD 180-GRAM VIRGIN VINYL RECORD. Getz/Gilberto #2 was recorded live at Carnegie Hall in October 1964 and released in 1966. The album follows the duo's initial collaboration, which won the 1965 Grammy Awards for Best Album of the Year and Best Jazz Instrumental Album - Individual or Group. While justifiably overshadowed by their first encounter, this collection still holds it's own with an appealing selection of fine jazz and bossa nova cuts. A/Music reviewer Stephen Cook stated that "Backed by a stellar quartet comprised of Gary Burton, Gene Cherico, and Joe Hunt, Getz turns in a sparkling performance on the seldom covered ballad 'Tonight I'II Shall Sleep with a Smile on My Face,' while stretching out nicely on his original blues swinger 'Stan's Blues.' With the support of Keeter Betts and Helcio Milito, Gilberto displays his subtle vocal and guitar talents on a set of bossa nova favourites, including his own 'Bim Bom' and Jobim's"Meditation.'" The beautiful painting on the album cover is by Olga Albizu.