Sleepytime Gorilla Museum - of the Last Human Being [Gold Nugget 2LP]


Format: Vinyl
Rel. Date: 02/23/2024
UPC: 602309901486

of the Last Human Being [Gold Nugget 2LP]
Artist: Sleepytime Gorilla Museum
Format: Vinyl


1. Salamander in Two Worlds
2. Fanfare for the Last Human Being
3. El Evil
4. Bells for Kith and Kin
5. Silverfish
6. S.P.Q.R
7. We Must Know More
8. The Gift
9. Hush, Hush
10. Save It!
11. Burn Into Light
12. Old Grey Heron
13. Rose-Colored Song

More Info:

After thirteen years of hibernation, Sleepytime Gorilla Museum, the most gloriously uncategorizable American band in existence, has emerged from stasis to proudly announce the imminent release of their fourth studio album, of the Last Human Being. The album marks the first release of AVANT NIGHT - a new imprint headed by Nick Ohler and facilitated by Joyful Noise Recordings.

Sleepytime Gorilla Museum, comprised of multi-instrumentalists and rotating vocalists Nils Frykdahl, Carla Kihlstedt, Michael "Iago" Mellender, Matthias Bossi, and Dan Rathbun, plays an arsenal of instruments ranging from the somewhat standard (drums, electric guitars, bass, electric violin) to the rare (bass harmonica, nyckelharpa, marxophone) to the homemade (Slide-Piano Log, Electric Pancreas, Pedal-Action Wiggler). The group has consistently evaded easy categorization, garnering accolades from across the aisles of contemporary classical music, prog rock, industrial music, metal, avant-garde improv, and more. Their music, inturns bashing and bucolic, enveloping and unsettling, tends towards long-form epics interspersed with mysterious field recordings.

"As this slow-rolling planetwide Anthropocene Extinction event deepens, Sleepy- time's work has only grown more resonant, more prescient," offers Mer Yayanos, current symposiarch and secretary of the Museum's long standing social math club, the John Kane Society. "What better time for them to Bring Back the Apocalypse than right now,with a new full-length record that integratesthe past and the future?"