back to top


Format: CD
Rel. Date: 07/16/2021
UPC: 604988088120

Crying On The Inside 1945-1962 (Uk)
Artist: Dorothy Squires
Format: CD


1. Coming Home
2. Just a Prayer Away
3. The Gypsy
4. Under the Willow Tree
5. I'll Close My Eyes
6. Yippee-Olly-Ay-Ho
7. It's a Pity to Say Goodnight
8. Laughing on the Outside (Crying on the Inside)
9. Old Friends Are Golden Friends
10. (I Love You) for Sentimental Reasons
11. Unchangeable You
12. Danger Ahead (Beware!)
13. I'm in the Mood for Love
14. A Tree in the Meadow
15. Reflections on the Water (Looking Down at Me)
16. Anything I Dream Is Possible
17. So Tired
18. Here Comes Me
19. I'd Give the World (To You Sweetheart)
20. Our Love Story
21. You Shouldn't Have Kissed Me (If You Didn't Mean It)
22. Just Like a Gramophone Record
23. I Remember the Cornfields
24. Baby Come Home
25. Be My Love
26. My Resistance Is Low
27. And So to Sleep Again
28. Any Time
29. Unforgettable
30. I'm Walking Behind You
31. From Your Lips to the Ears of God
32. If You Love Me
33. It's the Talk of the Town
34. Changing Partners
35. Set Me Free (With the Radio Revellers)
36. White Wings (With the Radio Revellers)
37. Blue, Blue, Blue (With the Radio Revellers)
38. When You Lose the One You Love
39. I Saw the Look in Your Eyes (With Bonar Colleano)
40. What Is the Reason
41. Dear to Me
42. Come Home to My Arms
43. Precious Love
44. Our Song
45. Bewitched
46. Torremolinos
47. Don't Search for Love
48. This Place Called Home
49. Trust in Me
50. Say It with Flowers (With Russ Conway)
51. Talk It Over with Someone (With Russ Conway)
52. How Deep Is the Ocean
53. Are You

More Info:

The indomitable Dorothy Squires, who was famously married to actor Roger Moore, was one of Britain's biggest singing stars of the immediate post-WWII era. She enjoyed her biggest popularity between 1945 and the early 60s - roughly, the period covered by this compilation - during which she recorded for Parlophone, Columbia, Polygon, Decca, Polydor and Pye-Nixa. Featured herein are nineteen UK chart hits, including the top tenners 'Coming Home', 'Just A Prayer Away', 'The Gypsy', 'I'll Close My Eyes', 'It's A?Pity To?Say Goodnight', 'Laughing On The Outside (Crying On The Inside)', 'Danger Ahead', 'A Tree In The Meadow', 'Anything I Dream Is Possible' and 'I'm Walking Behind You', eight of which were written by Billy Reid. This is the most comprehensive overview of Squires' "golden years" to date, and includes a number of collectors' rarities which have never previously appeared on CD. x