back to top


Format: CD
Label: JSMR
Rel. Date: 11/13/2020
UPC: 604988270921

Verses, Voices & Noises
Artist: Peter Ustinov
Format: CD


1. Prologue
2. Interviews With: Von Grips; Altbauer; Orgini; Fandango; Foss; Dill; Russian Observer
3. Drivers' Meeting
4. Governor's Speech
5. Le Mans Start
6. The Arrival Of The Duke
7. The Race: Fanfani Pit Stop; Wildfowl Pit Stop; Orgini Pit Stop; Fanfani Pit Stop; Halfway Report; Russian Observer; Schnorcedes
8. Epilogue
9. March
10. Morning Prayer
11. Hobby Horse
12. The Swallow
13. The Sick Doll
14. I Don't Want To Play Today
15. The New Doll
16. The Waltz
17. The Accordion
18. The Polka
19. The Italian Song
20. The Neapolitan Song
21. The Organ Grinder
22. Old French Song
23. German Song
24. The Witch
25. Sweet Dreams
26. Phoney Folk-Lore

More Info:

Although by no means a regular - or even normal - recording artist, the mighty PETER USTINOV nonetheless dabbled in the noble art many times over the years. A man impossible to categorise, he was perhaps equal parts actor, writer, dramatist, filmmaker, theatre and opera director, stage designer, screenwriter, comedian, humourist, newspaper and magazine columnist, radio broadcaster, television presenter, raconteur, and the perfect TV chat show guest. This idiosyncratic tribute to his genius is drawn from three sources: (1) the wholly bizarre "The Grand Prix Of Gibraltar" LP (1959), presented here in it's entirety; (2) side two of "Tchaikovsky's Nutcracker Suite/Between Birthdays" LP (1961) by Andre Kostelanetz, Peter Ustinov and Ogden Nash (Ustinov only features on side two); and (3) "Phoney Folk-Lore", a long forgotten 1952 78rpm single, and one of his earliest recordings. The "Between Birthdays" suite, which features sixteen droll recitatives, has never previously been reissued in any format.