back to top


Format: CD
Label: JSMR
Rel. Date: 11/13/2020
UPC: 604988318128

Singles 1953-1956
Artist: Faye Adams
Format: CD


1. That's What Makes My Baby Fat
2. I'm Going to Leave You
3. Shake a Hand
4. I've Gotta Leave You
5. Sweet Talk
6. I'll Be True
7. Happiness to My Soul
8. Say a Prayer
9. Every Day
10. Somebody Somewhere
11. Crazy Mixed Up World
12. Hurts Me to My Heart
13. Ain't Gonna Tell
14. I Owe My Heart to You
15. Love Ain't Nothin' to Play with
16. Anything for a Friend
17. Your Love (Has My Heart Burnin')
18. You Ain't Been True
19. My Greatest Desire
20. Angels Tell Me
21. Tag Along
22. Same Old Me
23. No Way Out
24. Teen-Age Heart
25. Witness to the Crime
26. Takin' You Back
27. Anytime Anyplace Anywhere
28. The Hammer (Keeps a Knockin')

More Info:

A twenty-eight track compilation of Faye Adams' critically acclaimed recordings between 1953 and 1956. Includes three number ones "Shake A Hand". "I'll Be True" & "Hurts Me To My Heart" from Billboard magazine's Rhythm & Blues Chart. Her complete output on the Herald label and earlier recordings made for Atlantic. Long before Aretha Franklin, Faye Adams could rightly be called "The Queen of Soul". Detailed notes include label scans, press ads and other memorabilia as well as telling her personal story including how Atlantic Records missed out on the million-selling "SHAKE A HAND" which spent ten weeks at the top of the R & B charts. Faye Adams is the recipient of a "Pioneer Award" by America's Rhythm And Blues Foundation, testament to her standing in the music that opened the door to Rock 'n' Roll.