Format: CD
Rel. Date: 07/08/2022
UPC: 604988319422

Crescent City Bounce: New Orleans R&B 1950-1958
Artist: Crescent City Bounce: New Orleans R&B 1950-1958
Format: CD


1. Stack-A-Lee (Part 1)
2. Stack-A-Lee (Part 2)
3. Shake, Shake Baby
4. Ballin' With Archie
5. My Gal
6. Little Miss Muffett
7. Crescent City Bounce
8. She's Scattered Everywhere
9. Early Morning Blues
10. House Party Blues
11. Soon As I Go Home
12. Great Big Eyes
13. Do You Really Love Me?
14. Is Everything All Right?
15. I Got A Gal In Nashville
16. Looked At The Moon
17. Winehead Baby
18. Tend To Your Business Blues
19. Going To The Country
20. I Got Booted
21. Thinkin Bout My Baby
22. Doing The Ham Bone
23. You're Near Me
24. Heavenly Angel
25. Open The Door
26. Teen Age Rock
27. Ballin' With Archie
28. Teen Age Rock
29. Great Big Eyes

More Info:

This unique compilation examines the recordings of three legendary New Orleans piano-players, ARCHIBALD, SALVADOR DOUCETTE and JAMES BOOKER, each of whom had surprisingly short discographies. John Leon "Archibald" Gross registered a massive hit with his first record, 'Stack-A-Lee (Parts 1 & 2)' which made the national R&B Top 10 in 1950, while follow-ups like 'Shake, Shake Baby', 'Ballin' With Archie' and 'Crescent City Bounce' enjoyed significant regional success. Salvador Doucette appears herein as a sideman, on eight sides by vocalist Sonny Jones, which have attained huge reputations among record collectors over the decades. One-time child prodigy James Carroll Booker described by the mighty Dr. John as "a genius", was only fourteen when he cut his first 45, 'Thinkin' Bout My Baby' / 'Doing The Ham Bone' (included herein), on which he was billed as "Little Booker", in 1954. Both Archibald and Booker were hugely influential players, and the latter would go on to enjoy enormous commercial success in the 1970s