back to top


Format: CD
Label: JSMR
Rel. Date: 11/13/2020
UPC: 604988319521

Slide It On In! - 28 Classics Of Slide Guitar Blues 1948-1961 / Various
Artist: Slide It On In 28 Classics Of Slide Guitar Blues
Format: CD


1. Muddy Waters - You're Gonna' Miss Me (When I'm Dead and Gone)
2. Robert Nighthawk - Sweet Black Angel
3. John Lee - Blind's Blues
4. Dan Pickett - Baby, How Long?
5. Pinetop Slim - Applejack Boogie
6. Homesick James - Johnnie Mae
7. St. Louis Jimmy - Florida Hurricane
8. Hop Wilson - My Woman Has a Black Cat Bone
9. Robert Nighthawk - the Moon Is Rising
10. Frankie Lee Sims - Single Man Blues
11. Johnny Shines - Ramblin'
12. Dan Pickett - Chicago Blues
13. Homesick James - Homesick
14. John Dudley - Po' Boy Blues
15. Pinetop Slim - Fast Life
16. John Lee - Down at the Depot
17. Robert Nighthawk - Crying Won't Help You
18. Dan Pickett - That's Grieving Me
19. Homesick James - Late Hours at Midnight
20. Pinetop Slim - I'm Gonna Carry on
21. Frankie Lee Sims - Don't Forget Me Baby
22. Robert Nighthawk (As the Nighthawks) - Annie Lee Blues
23. Johnny Shines - Fishtail
24. Dan Pickett - Early One Morning
25. Hop Wilson - Merry Christmas, Darling
26. Homesick James - Wartime
27. Pinetop Slim - Poor Boy
28. Hound Dog Taylor - My Baby Is Coming Home

More Info:

The slide guitar technique found popularity during the late 1920s and the 1930s especially in the Mississippi delta as many musicians began to look for individual styles to enhance their popularity. The 28 tracks here feature some of the greatest exponents of the style on a selection of tracks that may not have been hits or even in some instances have been released until many years after their recording. Several of the names like John Lee, John Dudley, Dan Pickett and Pinetop Slim are little known outside of blues collector circles. Others though did enjoy fame across the world for their music and records like, Muddy Waters, Robert Nighthawk, Johnny Shines and Homesick James. The influence of these musicians began to permeate into rock & roll music during the 1960s. Compiled and conceived by noted blues expert, Neil Slaven. Fully detailed liner notes