Format: CD
Rel. Date: 02/18/2022
UPC: 604988321821

Downhome Blues From Chicago To New York (Uk)
Artist: Homesick James Meets Cousin Leroy
Format: CD


1. Johnnie Mae
2. Lonesome Old Train TK 2
3. Farmers Blues
4. Whiskey Headed Woman
5. Homesick
6. Dirty Rat
7. The Woman I Love
8. Wartime
9. Lonesome Blues
10. Late Hours at Midnight
11. 12th Street Station
12. Long Lonesome Day
13. Can't Afford to Do It
14. Set a Date
15. Goin' Back Hom
16. Catfish
17. 41 Highway
18. Lonesome Bedroom
19. Waitin' at the Station
20. Crossroads
21. Will a Match Box Hold My Clothes
22. Highway 41
23. I'm Lonesome
24. Up the River
25. String Beans
26. Woke Up with the Blues
27. Voo Doo
28. Sail on
29. Rollin' Stone

More Info:

The worlds of blues, R&B and soul are filled with dynamic, original and highly collectable artists who made a string of great recordings but often insufficient to fill a full length CD. In the past Jasmine has successfully paired Buddy Ace and Al 'TNT' Braggs on JASMCD3167 and O. C. Smith and Lenny Welch on JASCD1029. Now it's the turn of Homesick James and Cousin Leroy. Other than the amount of recordings Homesick James and Cousin Leroy made through to 1962 there are no stylistic characteristics between the two artists. Homesick James, cousin of Elmore James, was an important element in the Chicago blues club scene throughout the 1950s and 60s and Cousin Leroy was a mainstay of the New York blues club scene. Many of these recordings have rarely been available for the past 40 years and if you're not familiar with their work I can assure you that you are in for a treat.