Format: CD
Rel. Date: 04/15/2022
UPC: 604988323122

Red The Bebop Guy 1945-1951 (Uk)
Artist: Red Saunders
Format: CD


1. Hallelujah
2. Red's Boogie Woogie
3. Sweet Lorraine
4. Memories of You
5. Red, the Be Bop Guy
6. VI, Tell Me Why
7. Freight Train Blues
8. Card Playing Blues
9. Take It Upstairs
10. 4 A.M
11. Trust in Me
12. Synthesis
13. Jitterbuggin'
14. Legs Gettin' Bigger and Bigger
15. D.D.D. (Dorothy Donegan's Doghouse)
16. Ridin' Boogie
17. Blow, "MR. Low-Blow"
18. Chi (Chicago)
19. Lyin' Girl Blues
20. Stop, Pretty Baby, Stop
21. Mistreatin' Woman Blues
22. Week Day Blues
23. 4 A.M
24. Last Night's Party
25. Hey Bartender
26. Boot 'Em Up
27. Sugar Bounce

More Info:

Red Saunders' name appeared on many record releases and his Orchestra was behind a multitude of performers but he also recorded under his own name. He was born in Memphis but moved to Chicago at an early age learning to play drums well enough to join bands. In 1937 he was in the house band at the legendary Club DeLisa where he eventually became bandleader and made his recording debut in 1945. It is from these initial recordings that we present 27 titles recorded under his own name from 1945 to 1951 be it sextette, band or orchestra. Red used several singers on these recordings, Eddie "Bunky" Redding, George Floyd, George Kirby but the one who became the most famous was "Jumpin" Joe Williams. Williams had worked with Red at the Club DeLisa and Columbia saw fit to include him on many of Red's sessions. He can be heard on the last 11 tracks but sadly Columbia did not have any commercial success with them. This success was not achieved until he joined Count Basie having changed his name to Joe Williams and his style from blues to ballads. A number of these titles were not issued at the time, these and many others are appearing for the first time on CD. Sadly, Saunders never received the recognition he deserved, let's hope this CD helps redress the balance