back to top


Format: Vinyl
Rel. Date: 11/20/2020
UPC: 634457032538

Mamalarky [LP]
Artist: Mamalarky
Format: Vinyl


1. Fury
2. You Make Me Smile
3. Schism Trek
4. Cosine
5. Big Trouble
6. Hero
7. Almighty Heat
8. Singalong
9. Drug Store Model
10. Don't Laugh At Me

More Info:

Mamalarky spent two years working on their self-titled debut album (out via Fire Talk on November 20th). Raw and cerebral, the LP looks to a range of influences from their collective musical nerdiness. ''We might have a vocal melody that sounds like the lead steel guitar from Santo & Johnny, played over production that aims to be noisy and weird like Deerhoof or Sheer Mag, all the while steeped in the greats like Stevie Wonder or The Four Seasons,' explains Livvy. The album itself was cobbled together in a mix of DIY ways: home recordings with Livvy s roommate Joey Oaxaca (White Reaper, Mo Dotti), singles with Daniel McNeill (White Denim) and a final wrapping-up with engineer Jim Vollentine (Spoon, Skating Polly). The result is an album that s as musically fun and explorative as it is catchy and sweet. Or as Mamalarky puts it 'We want to provide an experience that's exploratory and trippy, but far removed from the problematic and corny psych stereotypes carried out by all those 60s dude bands.'