Deliverance - Subversive Kind


Format: CD
Rel. Date: 05/17/2024
UPC: 637405141290

Subversive Kind
Artist: Deliverance
Format: CD


1. Bring 'Em Down
2. Concept of the Other
3. Center of It All
4. The Black Hand
5. Epilogue
6. Listen Closely
7. The Subversive Kind
8. The Fold
9. C-One-9
10. Paraphrased

More Info:

2018's The Subversive Kind, represents a 'return to form' of the Deliverance old school speed metal and thrash beginnings. The group's press material summarizes accordingly: "We're going to give you, the fan, what you've been asking for and what you want - the old school thrash days of DELIVERANCE. Everything you've always loved about DELIVERANCE since the Greetings Of Death days - you're going to get it with this record." True to form, The Subversive Kind is a classic thrash album complete with all the expected trimmings: unrelenting fast tempos, aggressive riffing, tenacious drumming, shredding guitar leads and The Subversive Kind places little emphasis on guitar solos. Repeat listens reveal just how plentiful and impressive are the solos on each of the album's tracks - each one including a lead guitar break to feature not only Greg Minier (The Crucified) but also original Deliverance/Vengeance guitarist Glenn Rogers, who lends his brash soloing abilities in explosive fashion. Consider "Epilogue" in this capacity, as found in it's associating subtle melody and thick as-it-gets Impellitteri style guitars with a stretch of soloing that reflects an almost bluesy feel. Likewise, "Listen Closely, " thrash all the way but imparting some slower doom like tendencies and understated hooks, and "The Fold, " a choice cut with it's anthem like Maiden-esque riffs and dogged-as-it-gets refrain, are also emboldened with lead guitar but of a more flashy variety. At it's heart, The Subversive Kind is a full on thrash masterpiece in the vein of Destruction, Exodus, Overkill and Sodom. It is beautifully brutal in every way, filled with creativity and fervor that seeks to expand your mind and knock you on your... um, "kiester!" The 2024 Retroactive Records GoldMax Gold CD reissue is a Collector's Dream for such an important album - featuring a complete 2024 remaster by Rob Colwell (Deliverance, King's X, Vengeance Rising), a deluxe 16-page booklet (featuring original cover art), with it's jewel case wrapped in the Gold Disc cardboard O-ring for added elegance and protection. The O-ring features the classic image of the band running out of the castle (back of the original artwork). Oh, and the two first-time studio bonus tracks were recorded for fans just for this reissue, and they feature the classic Deliverance line-up. The bonus tracks take this album from 31 minutes (original release) to 39 minutes of face-melting thrash and speed metal! This album features an All-Star cast with players from then original Deliverance line-up, Tourniquet, Vengeance (early), Heretic, and The Crucified. Limited to just 500 copies - secure your copy now!