Chang / Composers Conference Ensemble - Mind Like Water


Format: CD
Rel. Date: 01/19/2024
UPC: 690277901485

Mind Like Water
Artist: Chang / Composers Conference Ensemble
Format: CD


1. I. Allegretto [04:37]
2. II. Adagio [06:07]
3. III. Andantino [04:57]
4. Germinate [11:42]
5. Mind Like Water [13:51]
6. I. Affectionate [05:29]
7. II. Expressive, Yet Somewhat Distant [06:30]
8. III. Methodical [06:28

More Info:

Composer Yu-Hui Chang's Mind Like Water presents three ensemble works and one solo cello piece that all feature a dialogue between musical elements. Sometimes this dialogue unfolds between contrasting energies, such as the percolating rhythms of the opening movement of In Thin Air versus the dramatic gestures in it's second movement. Other times the conversation is between smaller musical elements, like the cells in Germinate or the flowing, through composed unfolding of the title work. The recording features performances by the Lydian String Quartet, Dinosaur Annex Music Ensemble, Composers Conference Ensemble, and cellist Rhonda Rider.