Surfriders - Surfbeat, Volume 2 (Mod)


Format: CD
Rel. Date: 03/08/2024
UPC: 730167345699

Surfbeat, Volume 2 (Mod)
Artist: Surfriders
Format: CD


1. Wipe Out
2. Teen Scene
3. Memphis
4. Hot Pastrami
5. Surf Beat
6. Rum Runner
7. Riders in the Sky
8. Sloop John B
9. Ram-Bunk-Shush 1
10. Surfer's Blues 1
11. Sunset Surfing 1
12. Love Potion

More Info:

In 1963 Vault Records released an album entitled 'Surfbeat' by a then little known group called 'The Challengers'. It was the first record for both the label and the group, and became an instant smash-hit. Just like that, the foundations of the surf rock generation were born and Vault and The Challengers were on their way. The surfing sound swept the country from coast to coast. In the year that followed, many surfing groups were recorded, but few had the excitement of that first Challengers' album. That is until the second volume by 'The Surfriders' (make no mistake, this is a thinly veiled rejig of the original Challengers lineup) brought the same energy and the same thrill as the first installment and quickly became a highly prized collector's item among fans of the early surf scene with standout tracks including 'Wipe Out', 'Teen Scene' and 'Riders in the Sky'.