back to top


Format: Vinyl
Rel. Date: 05/21/2021
UPC: 7350107320260

Social World Of Rodger Wilhoit (Bonus Tracks)
Artist: Rodger Wilhoit
Format: Vinyl


1. When I Climb Back Up to the Living
2. My Shoes Are Not That Hard to Fill
3. Social World
4. Since 1959
5. The Smell of Strange Perfume
6. The Fire Burns Again
7. All the Comforts of Home
8. Eyes with That Hungry Look
9. The Touch of Gold
10. I've Spent My Time in Hell Loving You
11. Inner Circles of Chicago
12. My Effort Will Bear the Fruit
13. Mighty Band of Gold
14. God Is Not Dead (I Spoke to Him Today)

More Info:

Country music has chased piety, poetry, and much else, but The Social World is unapologetic hardcore, beer-sodden country music reduced to it's core values. No faking. No pretension. Spare, unornamented, and straight from the heart, the songs on the "Social World" of Rodger Wilhoit are all that's holy and true in beerhall country music. The instrumentation is only as full as it needs to be. The singing is careworn and deeply sincere. There's nothing tentative or lukewarm in Wilhoit's music. It isn't going to meet you halfway. It seems that there's always more to discover. Most copies of Social World and Rodger's singles were probably sold off the bandstand 40 or 50 years ago. They were among the thousands of records by local artists on local labels sold off local bandstands all across the country. Most ended up in garage sales, thrift shops, or landfill. But every so often, an artist will be resurrected, and find a new audience. Rodger Wilhoit is one such singer. At a time when most mainstream Nashville country music sounds so contrived and empty, it takes an artist like Rodger Wilhoit to remind us what it's really all about.