Lydia Loveless - Nothing's Gonna Stand In My Way Again


Format: CD
Rel. Date: 09/22/2023
UPC: 744302030425

Nothing's Gonna Stand In My Way Again
Artist: Lydia Loveless
Format: CD


1. Song About You
2. Poor Boy
3. Sex and Money
4. Runaway
5. Feel
6. Toothache
7. Ghost
8. Do the Right Thing
9. French Restaurant
10. Summerlong

More Info:

A follow-up to her critically acclaimed 2020 LP Daughter, Nothing’s Gonna Stand in My Way Again continues the evolution of Loveless (she/her/they/them): a fiercely brave writer who bluntly assesses their life in song. Their trademark candidness and razor-sharp wit remain as they lay bare their raw pain—struggles with alcohol and depression, a breakup with their longtime boyfriend, and uncertainty about the future—but here Loveless’ voice is wiser and more controlled. And while she holds onto a vintage country heart and a heartland rock soul, this album also presents something new and matured: a sound akin to Rumors and Tusk-era Fleetwood Mac. Nothing’s Gonna Stand in My Way Again (named one of Pitchfork’s most anticipated albums of the year) is not only a break-up record drifting back to some of the best of its kind, like Richard & Linda Thompson’s Shoot Out the Lights, Superchunk’s Foolish and, of course, Rumors. It’s also a reminder to keep improving oneself, taking ownership and moving forward—alone, if needed. Captivating and complex, it’s a triumphant moment from an artist who’s continuing their stride.