back to top


Format: CD
Rel. Date: 11/13/2020
UPC: 747313603930

Complete Symphonies (Box)
Artist: Villa-Lobos / Sao Paulo Symphony / Karabtchevsky
Format: CD


1. Symphony No. 1, "O Imprevisto"
2. I. Allegro Assai Moderato
3. II. Adagio
4. III. Scherzo: Allegro Vivace
5. IV. Allegro Con Brio
6. Symphony No. 2, "Ascençao"
7. I. Allegro Non Troppo
8. II. Allegretto Scherzando
9. III. Andante Moderatoc
10. IV. Allegro
11. Symphony No. 3, "A Guerra" (War)
12. I. Life and Labour: Allegro Quasi Giusto
13. II. Intrigues and Rumours: Movimento Vivo
14. III. Suffering: Lento E Marcial
15. IV. the Battle: Allegro Impetuoso
16. Symphony No. 4, "A Vitoria" (Victory)
17. I. Allegro Impetuoso
18. II. Andantino
19. III. Andante
20. IV. Lento - Allegro
21. Symphony No. 6, "On the Outline of the Mountains of Brazil"
22. I. Allegro Non Troppo
23. II. Lento
24. III. Allegretto Quasi Animato
25. IV. Allegro
26. Symphony No. 7
27. I. Allegro Vivace
28. II. Lento
29. III. Scherzo: Allegro Non Troppo
30. IV. Allegro Preciso
31. Symphony No. 8
32. I. Andante
33. II. Lento Assai
34. III. Allegretto Scherzando
35. IV. Allegro Giusto
36. Symphony No. 9
37. I. Allegro
38. II. Adagio
39. III. Scherzo: Vivace
40. IV. Allegro Giusto
41. Symphony No. 11
42. I. Allegro Moderato
43. II. Largo
44. III. Scherzo: Molto Vivace
45. IV. Molto Allegro
46. Symphony No. 10, "Amerindia", "Sumé Pater Patrium"
47. Part I: The Earth and It's Creatures
48. Part II: War Cry (Bass, the Voice of the Earth)
49. Part III: Iurupichuna (Indian Natives, the Voice of the Earth)
50. Part IV: The Voice of the Earth and the Appearance of Father Anchieta (The Amerindio, the Voice of the Earth, Indian Natives, An
51. Part V: Glory in Heavens, and Peace on Earth! - Finale (Chorus)
52. Uirapuru
53. Symphony No. 12
54. I. Allegro Non Troppo
55. II. Adagio
56. III. Scherzo
57. IV. Molto Allegro
58. Mandu-Carara

More Info:

Heitor Villa-Lobos has been described as 'the single most significant creative figure in 20th-century Brazilian art music.' The eleven symphonies- the enigmatic Symphony No. 5 has never been found and may not ever have been written- range from the two earliest, conceived in a broadly central Central European tradition, to the final symphony No. 12 which is notable for it's explosive energy, harmonic richness and rhythmic vitality. Every aspect of Villa-Lobos's remarkable inspiration is represented in these works, with Brazilian national rhythms and extremes of ambition in terms of scale and dramatic content, alongside neo-Classical transparency and lyrical charm. These critically acclaimed performances from Sao Paulo are both idiomatic and expertly played.