Format: CD
Label: Pressure Sounds
Rel. Date: 10/01/2021
UPC: 794712625810

Black Art from the Black Ark
Artist: Lee Perry & Friends
Format: CD


1. Roots Train - Junior Murvin (previously unreleased dubplate mix)
2. Woman Gotta Have Love - Jimmy Riley (previously unreleased dubplate mix)
3. Set Up Yourself - The Upsetters
4. Brotherly Love - Henrick Nicholson (12" mix)
5. Let's Fall in Love - Junior Murvin
6. Say a Little Prayer - Eric Donaldson (12" mix)
7. I Never Had It So Good - Jimmy Riley
8. Mister Craven - Junior Murvin
9. Such Is Life - Lord Creator (12" mix)
10. Such Is Life Version - The Upsetters
11. Nuh Fi Run It Down - Danny Clarke
12. Nuh Fi Run It Down Version - The Upsetters
13. What a Sin - Lee Perry (extended mix)
14. Ska Baby - Bobby Ellis
15. Ska Version - The Upsetters
16. Beard Man Shuffle - The Upsetters
17. Oh Me Oh My - Bree Daniels
18. Oh Me Oh Dub - The Upsetters

More Info:

In the film 'Roots, Rock, Reggae' there is extraordinary footage of Lee 'Scratch' Perry producing a session at the Black Ark. The sequence shows Junior Murvin collaborating with members of the Congos and the Heptones on a song improvised on the spot for the film crew. Before the vocals are recorded, the Upsetters lay down the backing track. The musical director of the session is the afro-haired bass player, Boris Gardiner. Gardiner was one of Jamaica's top bass players and arrangers in the 60s and 70s creating a run of classic tunes at Studio One. Gardiner's contributions to the music produced at The Black Ark are featured here on this 16 track 2xLP (CD features 2 bonus tracks) that features work from The Upsetters, Junior Murvin, Jimmy Riley and more. Black Art from the Black Ark contains features two previously unreleased dubplate mixes, several 12" mixes and and extended mix of Scratch's "What A Sin".