Format: CD
Label: Dialogo
Rel. Date: 12/01/2023
UPC: 8018344499260

Complete Obscure Records Collection / Various
Artist: Complete Obscure Records Collection / Various
Format: CD


1. Gavin Bryars - the Sinkink of the Titanic
2. Gavin Bryars - the Sinking of the Titanic
3. Gavin Bryars - Jesus' Blood Never Failed Me Yet
4. Christopher Hobbs - Aran
5. John Adams - (A2I) American Standard - John Philip Sousa
6. John Adams - (A2Ii)American Standard - Christian Zeal and Activity
7. John Adams - (A2Iii)American Standard - Sentimentals
8. Christopher Hobbs - McCrimmon Will Never Return
9. Gavin Bryars - 1, 2, 1-2-3-4
10. Brian Eno - Discreet Music
11. Brian Eno - Fullness of Wind (Variation on 'The Canon in D Major' By Johann Pachelbel)
12. Brian Eno - French Catalogues (Variation on 'The Canon in D Major' By Johann Pachelbel)
13. Brian Eno - Brutal Ardour (Variation on 'The Canon in D Major' By Johann Pachelbel)
14. Max Eastley - Hydrophone
15. Max Eastley - Metallophone
16. Max Eastley - the Centriphone
17. Max Eastley - Elastic Aerophone / Centriphone
18. David Toop - Do the Bathosphere
19. David Toop - the Divination of the Bowhead Whale
20. David Toop - the Chairs Story
21. Jan Steele - All Day
22. Jan Steele - Distant Saxophones
23. Jan Steele - Rhapsody Spaniel
24. John Cage - Experiences No.1
25. John Cage - Experiences No.2
26. John Cage - the Wonderful Widow of Eighteen Springs
27. John Cage - Forever and Sunsmel
28. John Cage - in a Landscape
29. Michael Nyman - 1-100
30. Michael Nyman - Bell Set No. 1
31. Penguin Cafè Orchestra - 1 Penguin Café Single
32. Penguin Cafè Orchestra - 2 Zopf
33. Penguin Cafè Orchestra - a) Zopf: From the Colonies (For N.R.)
34. Penguin Cafè Orchestra - B) Zopf: In a Sidney Motel
35. Penguin Cafè Orchestra - C) Zopf: Surface Tension (Where the Trees Meet the Sky)
36. Penguin Cafè Orchestra - D) Zopf: Milk
37. Penguin Cafè Orchestra - E) Zopf: Coronation
38. Penguin Cafè Orchestra - F) Zopf: Giles Farnaby's Dream
39. Penguin Cafè Orchestra - G) Zopf: Pigtail
40. Penguin Cafè Orchestra - 3 the Sound of Someone You Love Who's Going Away and It Doesn't Matter
41. Penguin Cafè Orchestra - 4 Hugebaby
42. Penguin Cafè Orchestra - 5 Chartered Flight
43. John White - Autumn Countdown Machine
44. John White - Son of Gothic Chord
45. John White - Jew's Harp Machine
46. John White - Drinking and Hooting Machine
47. Gavin Bryars - the Squirrel and the Ricketty Racketty Bridge
48. Tom Phillips, Gavin Bryars, Fred Orton - Introduction
49. Tom Phillips, Gavin Bryars, Fred Orton - Overture and Aria: "I Tell You That's Irma Herself"
50. Tom Phillips, Gavin Bryars, Fred Orton - First Interlude
51. Tom Phillips, Gavin Bryars, Fred Orton - Aria: "Irma You Will Be Mine"
52. Tom Phillips, Gavin Bryars, Fred Orton - Second Interlude
53. Tom Phillips, Gavin Bryars, Fred Orton - Chorus: "Love Is Help Mate"
54. Tom Phillips, Gavin Bryars, Fred Orton - Postlude ^1
55. Harold Budd - Bismillahi 'Rrahmani 'Rrahim ^1
56. Harold Budd - Let Us Go Into the House of the Lord/Butterfly Sunday ^1
57. Harold Budd - Rossetti Noise/The Crystal Garden and a Coda ^1
58. Harold Budd - Juno

More Info:

The first-ever CD box set gathering the entire 10 album collection of Obscure Records produced by Brian Eno's. Originally issued between 1975 and 1978, nearly 50 years on the output of Obscure remains radically forward-thinking - offering glimpses of a future yet to be fully seen - and amounts to one of the most important, influential, and creatively accomplished album series ever conceived. Curated by Eno and the composers Gavin Bryars and Michael Nyman - issuing the recording debuts of Bryars, Nyman, John Adams, Christopher Hobbs, David Toop, Max Eastley, Jan Steele, Simon Jeffes / The Penguin Café Orchestra, and Harold Budd, in addition to important works by John Cage, Tom Phillips, and John White - Obscure's collective output is a groundbreaking landmark in the histories of Minimalism, modern composition, and Experimental music, and laid much of the groundwork for the soon to emerge movement of Ambient music. Illuminating the remarkable, and largely otherwise undocumented, creative ferment within and between the British and American scenes of experimental music during the mid to late 1970s, this collection - made in full collaboration with all of the composers or their estates - contains the entire 10 album output of Obscure, the majority of which have been out of print for years, with a number having never received a CD reissue. Offering each of Obscure's albums, completely remastered and housed in faithful replicas of their original covers and liner notes, as well as a 130-page booklet for CD-BOX SET and 80-page book (LP dimension) for LP-BOX SET, filled with rare photos, archival material and texts by - among others - Gavin Bryars, Bradford Bailey, David Toop, Max Eastley, Richard Bernas, and Tom Recchion, this historic collection marks the first time this seminal series has received a complete CD and LP repress.