Format: CD
Label: Origin Records
Rel. Date: 11/18/2022
UPC: 805558286025

Oasis: Music Of Gregg Hill
Artist: Rodney Whitaker
Format: CD


1. Betty's Tune
2. Puppets
3. Minorabilia
4. Interlude
5. Sunday Afternoon
6. The Jazzdiddy Waltz
7. S'Cool Days
8. Blues for Gregg
9. Fan O Gram
10. To the Wel
11. Oasis

More Info:

The variety is broad and the band itself can blow up a storm! - Dave Rogers, WTJU. The compositions of Gregg Hill have found an inspired home through several recordings by revered bassist Rodney Whitaker. Intellect and feeling stand in expressive balance with Hill's concepts of form, melody and rhythmic hooks on this third album in the series. Whitaker, from Detroit and again firmly entrenched in the rich Michigan jazz scene, continues to perform at the highest levels. His long-standing quintet of well acknowledged masters - pianist Bruce Barth, Terell Stafford on trumpet, Tim Warfield on sax, and drummer Dana Hall - imbue the music with stellar soloing, supple textures, exciting dynamics, and a never-ending swing. Vocalist/lyricist Rockelle Fortin again adds her voice on 4 songs, including the high-octane opener, "Betty's Tune." "Anchoring the music's phases and moods, Whitaker is a volcanic boulder..." - City Pulse