back to top


Format: CD
Rel. Date: 07/03/2020
UPC: 805772640221

Great American Radio Vol 5 [Import]
Artist: Dr. John
Format: CD


1. Intro
2. Gris Gris Gumbo Ya Ya
3. Salt n Pepper
4. Familiar Reality
5. Keep On Hanging On
6. Rock n Roll Has Got A Beat
7. Let The Good Times Roll
8. I Walk On Guilded Splinters/ Zu Zu Mamou
9. Iko Iko/ Band Introductions
10. Little Liza Jane (Excerpt)
11. Mardi Gras Day
12. Wang Dang Doodle
13. Outro

More Info:

Live archive release. Malcolm John Rebennack Jr, better known by his stage name Dr John, was an American singer and songwriter. His music combines blues, pop, jazz, boogie-woogie, funk, and rock and roll. Active as a session musician from the late 1950s until his death, he gained a following in the late 1960s after the release of his album Gris-Gris and his appearance at the Bath Festival of Blues and Progressive Music. He typically performed a lively, theatrical stage show inspired by medicine shows, Mardi Gras costumes, and voodoo ceremonies. This live set was recorded at Manley Field House, Syracuse, New York on 7th April 1972 and features a number of songs from that period, including 'Gris Gris Gumbo Ya Ya' and 'Iko Iko'. In all, Dr John recorded thirty studio albums and nine live albums, as well as contributing to thousands of other musicians' recordings.