Format: CD
Rel. Date: 06/04/2021
UPC: 824046338121

Collection 1952-62
Artist: Eydie Gorme
Format: CD


1. That Night of Heaven
2. Tell Me More
3. Don't Tell Lies
4. Frenesi
5. Cocoanuts
6. I Danced with My Darling
7. Gimme Gimme John
8. Fini
9. Crocodile Tears
10. Climb Up the Wall
11. Chain Reaction
12. Sure
13. Give a Fool a Chance
14. A Girl Can't Say
15. Soldier Boy
16. What Is the Secret of Your Success
17. Sincerely Yours
18. Come Home
19. That's How
20. Too Close for Comfort
21. Mama, Teach Me to Dance
22. You Bring Out the Lover in Me
23. I've Got a Right to Cry
24. Soda Pop Hop
25. I'll Come Back
26. It's a Pity to Say Goodnight
27. I'll Take Romance
28. First Impression
29. Your Kisses Kill Me
30. Kiss in Your Eyes
31. When Your Lover Has Gone
32. Until They Sail
33. Love Me Forever
34. Let Me Be Loved
35. You Need Hands
36. Dormi Dormi Dormi
37. Gotta Have Rain
38. To You from Me
39. Who's Sorry Now
40. The Voice in My Heart
41. Separate Tables
42. I'm Yours
43. Don't Take Your Love from Me
44. Taking a Chance on Love
45. The Years Between
46. Fool Around
47. Happiness
48. The Dance Is Over
49. Too Young to Know
50. Be Sure My Love
51. I Will Follow You
52. Fly Me to the Moon
53. Yes My Darling Daughter
54. Sonny Boy
55. Where Is Love
56. Blame It on the Bossa Nova

More Info:

A traditional pop singer in the classic early '50s mould, Eydie Gorme, born Edith Gormezano, started her career singing with big bands at the start of the 1950s before signing as a solo singer with the Coral label and forming a partnership on US TV's 'Tonight Show' with her future husband Steve Lawrence. She enjoyed a successful career recording primarily as a solo artist, but also occasionally with Lawrence, making the successful transition into the post rock 'n' roll era, as she had hits in both the USA and UK from 1956 into the '60s, her chart success with her husband coming beyond the scope of this anthology. This excellent-value 56-track 2-CD set comprises selected A & B sides from her 40 or so solo singles on the Coral, ABC-Paramount and Columbia labels during these years, excluding duet performances with Steve Lawrence. Features all her ten solo US and UK chart entries from this era, including the Top 20 hits "You Need Hands", a US No. 11, "Yes My Darling Daughter", a UK No. 10, and "Blame It On The Bossa Nova", a US No. 7. It showcases her ability to range across the music spectrum from sophisticated big band material to upbeat pop, and provides a substantial and entertaining overview of this key first decade of her career.