Ink Spots - Hits Collection 1939-51


Format: CD
Rel. Date: 12/08/2023
UPC: 824046349127

Hits Collection 1939-51
Artist: Ink Spots
Format: CD


1. If I Didn't Care
2. You Bring Me Down
3. Address Unknown
4. My Prayer
5. Bless You
6. I'm Getting Sentimental Over You
7. When the Swallows Come Back to Capistrano
8. Whispering Grass (Don't Tell the Trees)
9. Maybe
10. Stop Pretending
11. You're Breaking My Heart All Over Again
12. We Three (My Echo, My Shadow and Me)
13. My Greatest Mistake
14. Java Jive
15. Do I Worry
16. Please Take a Letter Miss Brown
17. I'm Still Without a Sweetheart ('Cause I'm Still in Love with You)
18. So Sorry
19. Until the Real Thing Comes Along
20. I Don't Want to Set the World on Fire
21. Someone's Rocking My Dreamboat
22. Ev'ry Night About This Time
23. Just As Though You Were Here
24. This Is Worth Fighting for
25. Don't Get Around Much Anymore
26. If I Cared a Little Bit Less (And You Cared a Little More)
27. I Can't Stand Losing You
28. I'll Never Make the Same Mistake Again
29. Don't Believe Everything You Dream
30. A Lovely Way to Spend An Evening
31. Cow Cow Boogie
32. I'll Get By
33. Someday I'll Meet You Again
34. I'm Making Believe
35. Into Each Life Some Rain Must Fall
36. I'm Beginning to See the Light
37. The Gypsy
38. Prisoner of Love
39. To Each His Own
40. You Can't See the Sun When You're Crying
41. Ask Anyone Who Knows
42. The Best Things in Life Are Free
43. Say Something Sweet to Your Sweetheart
44. You Were Only Fooling
45. You're Breaking My Heart
46. Who Do You Know in Heaven (That Made You the Angel You Are)
47. Echoes
48. If

More Info:

Ink Spots - The Hits Collection 1939-51 The Ink Spots, along with the Mills Brothers, were one of the leading early doowop vocal groups during the decades spanning WWII, bringing together the influences of barber-shop quartets, gospel and jazz to create a sound and style that appealed to the mainstream pop market. Employing a distinctive guitar introduction, and using the "top and bottom" technique that contrasted the high tenor lead vocal of Bill Kenny with the bass voice of Orville Jones delivering a spoken verse, they developed a successful formula that was all their own, and between 1939 and 1951 they had around 50 hits in the various incarnations of the charts. In fact they had too many hits for us to be able to include all of them in this great-value 48-track 2-CD collection, which features all their Top 30 pop hits and all their Top 10 R&B hits, plus a few more, including those with Ella Fitzgerald. It features the No. 1s "Address Unknown", "We Three (My Echo, My Shadow And Me)", "I'm Making Believe", "Into Each Life Some Rain Must Fall", "The Gypsy", and "To Each His Own" plus the R&B No.1s "I Can't Stand Losing You" and "Don't Get Around Much Anymore". It's a concentrated presentation of their very best recordings, featuring their highly individual treatments of some of the finest songs of the era, and it's a marvellous showcase for their unique style of music.